Research Guides: Classics: Exploring the Discipline (HC): Classics

Classics

Painting of a young girl with wax tablets and a pen from Pompeii (Wikimedia Commons, Public domain)

Blogs and News

A Don's Life
Lively blog by Mary Beard, a prominent Classicist at the University of Cambridge, about modern academia and the Greco-Roman world. To read full blog entries, connect to TLS and search for A Don's Life. See also her book, Classics: A Very Short Introduction.
RogueClassicism
News and analysis about archaeological discoveries as well as Classical literature and culture more generally.
Sarah E. Bond
A blog dealing with late antiquity, digital humanities, and the connections between the Classical world and the present.

Companion Series

The companion and handbook genre is a publication type that has flourished in the last decade. Leading scholars provide a thorough description of the subjects involved in a field while also giving the most current interpretations of key questions. Each essay in a companion reflects an important subject facet and identifies the books and articles which are crucial for a greater understanding. Companions for Classics include:

Blackwell Companions - 65 Titles

Brill Companions - 35 Titles

Cambridge Companions - 44 Titles

Literature Reviews

Literature reviews are a particularly useful resource when doing research. They address the issues involved in a particular question and the debates among scholars. They map out the intellectual terrain succinctly and give you the major landmarks in terms of key authors and significant titles for greater understanding. It is one of the best places to find discussion of issues that are unresolved or in contention.

Oxford Bibliographies in Classics
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Provides bibilographies of and encyclopedic articles about over 50 topics in the classics. Includes introductions to each topic area, guides to introductory works, textbooks, guidebooks, journals, reference works etc., and links to useful websites. Bibliographies are browseable by subject area and keyword searchable.

Journal Indexes

Année Philologique
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Annèe Philologique is useful for researchers in the classics, philosophy, history, art, archaeology, and the humanities. It contains publication information for articles for the years 1924 to the present.
TOCS-IN: Tables of Contents of Journals of Interest to Classicists This link opens in a new window
Provides the tables of contents from a selection of Classics,Near Eastern Studies, and Religion journals. Subjects covered include: Greek and Latin linguistics and literature, Greek and Roman history, archaeology, mythology,and the Ancient Near East. About ten percent of the entries link to the full text of the articles. Covers published works from 1992-present.

Major Journals

Arethusa
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Studies in this journal often combine modern literary approaches with the study of ancient Greek or Latin texts.
Classical World
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Publishes a wide variety of scholarship on Greek and Roman civilization as well as articles about teaching Classical Studies.
Greece and Rome
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
This scholarly journal covers a wide range of Greek and Roman cultural history and presents issues of interest to students. Browse the articles that have been most frequently downloaded.

Staying Current

Bryn Mawr Classical Review
Valuable for its thoughtful coverage of new books and digital resources.
Perseus Digital Library
Single most useful digital collection of texts, translations and images from Greece and Rome.

What is Classics?

Bi-College Senior Theses in Classics
See theses from recent graduates for an idea of the range of topics studied in the Classics Department.
Classics Department, Haverford College
The Department homepage offers a variety of resources in addition to detailed information about courses, events, faculty , and students.
Latin Lives: Is the Revival of a Dead Language Breathing New Life into the Humanities?
Anthony Grafton writes about how the study of Latin takes students to the heart of what matters.
"Letter to a Young Classicist."
Brief advice from Kevin Herbert on study and teaching.

Classics and Art

Pergamon and the Hellenistic Kingdoms of the Ancient World
Major exhibit at the Metropolitan Museum through July 17, 2016. Includes the Baker Dancer (left).
Theseus, Hero of Athens
Essays and images concerning Greek vase paintings of Theseus as slayer of the minotaur and king of Athens.

Associations and Conferences

Society for Classical Studies
Formerly known as the American Philological Association. See the abstracts of papers for the January 2017 conference.
Professional Organizations for Classics
Groups in the United States as well as some in other countries.

Research Sources

Brill's New Pauly
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Publication Date: 2003-12-01
Articles are extensive and often address the topic in general before analyzing the issues in Greece and in Rome specifically.
There are also additional series published with the encyclopedia, including material on the classical tradition and mythology.
Connect to BMC's supplement volumes online.
All New Pauly volumes at Haverford in print.
Oxford Classical Dictionary
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
ISBN: 9780191735257
Publication Date: 2012

Logeion
This website offers results from major dictionaries for Greek and Latin, giving a combined result for meanings, grammar and usage.
Tri-College Research Guide: Classics
See these pages for more specialized research sources.