Provides access to biographical sources on over 325,000 people from throughout history, around the world, and across all disciplines and subject areas. Includes full-text articles from hundreds of periodicals.
Use these sources for scholarly background information and selected bibliographies.
A Companion to American Environmental History gathers together a comprehensive collection of over 30 essays that examine the evolving and diverse field of American environmental history. Provides a complete historiography of American environmental history, bringing the field up-to-date to reflect the latest trends and encourages new directions for the field. Includes the work of path-breaking environmental historians, from the founders of the field, to contributions from innovative young scholars. Takes stock of the discipline through five topically themed parts, with essays ranging from American Indian Environmental Relations to Cities and Suburbs. Also available as an ebook
Brings together multiplying issues, concepts, theories, examples, problems, and policies, with the goal of clearly explicating an emerging way of thinking about people and nature. Includes more than 1,200 entries written by experts from incredibly diverse fields.
This three-volume set, written by a team of international experts, provides not only broad historical coverage on how human beliefs and actions have altered the natural world, but also covers the latest developments in the field. An analysis of natural phenomena and events and their impact on human societies is also included. For a full list of entries, contributors, and more, visit the Encyclopedia of World Environmental History website. Also includes 20 maps.
This animated and accessible volume traces the development of the movement of ecocriticism and explores the concepts which have most occupied ecocritics, including pollution, wilderness, apocalypse, dwelling, animals and earth.
This introduction defines what ecocriticism is, its methods, arguments and concepts, and will enable students to look at texts in a wholly new way. Boxed sections explain key critical terms and contemporary debates in the field with 'hands-on' examples and comparisons.
Provides access to biographies, bibliographies, and critical analyses of authors from every age and literary discipline. Covers more than 120,000 novelists, poets, essayists, journalists, and other writers, with in-depth coverage of 2,500 of the most-studied authors.
Alphabetically arranged biographies of more than 11,000 men and women who served in the U.S. and Continental Congresses-from the beginning in 1774 through the 104th Congress in 1996 -- Complete rosters for every Congress -- Listings of all Cabinet members since George Washington's administration. This new edition offers many added features, including: descriptions of legislation for members who are sponsors or co-sponsors of acts known by their name: notable achievements outside Congress; and bibliographic citations.
Provides full-text access to over 500 reference books, encyclopedias, dictionaries, thesauri, books of quotations, etc., in various fields including art, law, literature, social sciences, and technology.