Research Guides: HIST 317: Religion, Power and Politics in Latin America and the Caribbean (HC): Visual Sources

Religious Imagery

Diego Rivera, La sangre de los mártires revolucionarios fertilizando la tierra, fresco, 1926, Chapingo. (Flickr, Joaquin Martinez)

The arts in Latin America, 1492-1820
See also the Philadelphia Museum of Art web site for the exhibit which includes podcasts from the curator.

Oxford Art Online
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Oxford Art Online is an art reference library that searches Grove Art Online, The Oxford Companion to Western Art, The Concise Oxford Dictionary of Art Terms, and The Encyclopedia of Aesthetics. This resource contains images, biographies, subject entries, and thematic timelines (antiquity to present).

Heilbrunn Timeline of Art History (Metropolitan Museum of Art)
Extremely rich site for understanding the art of a particular region and time. Use the Time Period and Geographic menus to see key Works of Art, Related Exhibitions, and, under Related Content, Thematic Essays. Essays include several related to Latin America including:
• Arts of the Mission Schools in Mexico
• Arts of the Spanish Americas, 1550-1850

Art Full Text
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Offers abstracts of journals, museum bulletins and yearbooks in the fields of art, architecture, decorative arts and photography. Covers abstracts from 1929-present, full-text articles 1997-present.
ARTbibliographies Modern
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Provides abstracts of journal articles, essays, exhibition catalogs, dissertations, and exhibition reviews on all areas of modern and contemporary art (late 19th century to the present) including photography, sculpture and art history and theory. Covers scholarship published since the late 1960's to present.

Archive of Early American Images (Brown University)
Provides access to nearly three thousand images from Spanish American sources including maps, prints, and book illustrations.

JSTOR Images (formerly Artstor)
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
A digital library that provides access to thousands of digital images derived from a variety of museum, library and archival collections. Images support a variety of disciplines including architecture, painting, sculpture, photography, decorative arts, and design.

Chilean Protest Murals
Harvard University Library makes available this collection of over 500 photographs. The murals were created between 1983 and 1990 during Pinochet's regime.
Colonial Latin America Curriculum Guide
ArtStor provides 13 thematic groups of images curated by Latin American historian, Rachel Moore. The groups range in time from the first colonial encounters through the age of independence. The images convey important historical information and represent a variety of view points.
Vistas: Visual Culture in Spanish America, 1520-1820 (Smith College)
Themes treated include metizaje, politics, religion, and material culture. "The website provides a gallery of more than 100 color images, interpretive essays, and a searchable bibliography on visual culture."