HIST 203B: The Age of Jefferson and Jackson (HC) Spring 2016

The Aimwell School was founded in 1796 by Anne Parrish for the purpose of providing “a good English education” for poor girls. The collection includes minute books, financial documents, and photographs.

Various tracts related to the anti-slavery movement, many with Quaker connections.

Potential materials of interest include correspondence about abolition and the Free Produce Movement (supporters strove to purchase no materials which had ties to slave labor), and numerous diaries, including one describing a visit to Native Americans in New York State in 1809.

Baily (1826-1916) was a Philadelphia-area merchant with an interest in penal reform and African-American causes. His collection includes correspondence and diaries.

Includes the diaries of Jane Temple Bettle, which cover 1824-1840.

J.P. Brissot. Published 1792.
Includes information on the United States’ trading relationships with Europe.

Burd and Price were the proprietors of a Philadelphia law firm. Their collection consists mainly of correspondence, much of which relates to legal matters and cases they were working on; some correspondence relates to political issues of the time.

Letters in this collection discuss personal and health issues, the family’s sheep and wool business, and education.

Matthew Carey, 1815.
The book declares that there are “faults on both sides,” Federal and Democratic, and urges “mutual forgiveness and harmony.” This is the 7th edition, enlarged.

These papers include Caroline Anne Cromwell’s diaries (1839-1849), land deeds and marriage certificates, and materials related to the families’ involvement with the Bowery Savings Bank in New York.

In addition to personal correspondence, these letters also discuss politics, a cholera outbreak, and issues related to Native Americans.

Includes the papers of Thomas Pim Cope (1768-1854), a prominent Quaker merchant, a member of Philadelphia City Council and Pennsylvania legislature, and the founder of a mercantile shipping firm based in Philadelphia which traded with England and the Far East.

This collection is comprised of letters from ship’s captains sailing as part of the Cope Packet Line, which traded with England and the Far East.

Cope was a merchant whose papers detail his interest in and involvement with poor laws, public water, slavery, the War of 1812, and schools.

Cope was a Quaker merchant, founder of Cope family shipping business, member of Philadelphia City Council and Pennsylvania legislature. Diary entries cover a variety of topics including weather, religious and personal reflection, business interests, family news, discussions of international politics.

Drinker was a partner in a Philadelphia-area shipping firm. Much of his correspondence relates to land issues.

The author is identified on the cover as “a colored man.” It also includes Andrew Jackson’s proclamations to the “colored people of Louisiana.”
H. Easton, 1837.

45 volumes of journals describing personal matters, political issues, and Philadelphia weather.

Includes diaries and speeches of Nathaniel Peabody Rogers, a New Hampshire lawyer and anti-slavery advocate.

The Emlen Institution was founded to support the "education, maintenance and instruction in school learning and in agriculture and mechanical trades or arts, of free male orphan children of African or Indian descent..." Materials include trustee minutes, correspondence, and financial records.

Evans' papers include personal correspondence but also throw light on the religious and doctrinal divisions within the Quaker church leading to the Hicksite Separation.

W. Faux, 1823.
The author was a British traveler investigating possibilities for immigrants. In addition to the East Coast, he also travels through Illinois.

The collection of this charitable organization includes correspondence, administrative material, the constitution, and annual reports. Events of interest include yellow fever outbreaks, the War of 1812, and financial issues.

The society was originally founded to aid victims of the 1793 yellow fever epidemic. It later founded a “house of industry,” where women were employed to sew and weave. Materials include minutes, names of women involved with the organization, reports from the house of industry, and other administrative materials. Other items of potential interest include pictures and a notebook by Catharine W. Morris from 1802.

The hospital was founded in 1813 to care for the mentally ill. Materials include minutes of various committees, medical casebooks, intake forms, daily records of hospital life, weather reports, and materials from a case brought against the hospital in 1849 by Morgan Hinchman for incarcerating him against his will.

By William Gouge, published 1837.
A political pamphlet. It includes table of appropriations by state at the end.

The collection includes correspondence, a land indenture, and diaries.

This collection consists primarily of correspondence, including that related to the medical practices of several members of the Hartshorne family. The correspondence of Joseph Hartshorne includes several letters related to the treatment of cholera, as well as other prominent diseases of the mid-19th century.

Kennard traveled through Ohio, Michigan, New York, Canada, Connecticut, Vermont and Pennsylvania by various means. In Canada he observers former fugitive slaves.

Letchworth travelled widely as a Quaker missionary, including visits to various Native American tribes. His collection contains letters and diaries.

This letter discusses the writer’s opposition to a tariff bill currently before the Senate.

Materials include an introspective diary and numerous commonplace books (notebooks compiled by their owners containing information such as medical recipes, quotes, letters, poems, proverbs, and prayers) by Susan H. Lloyd.

Luzerne County is part of Pennsylvania’s coal region. The map also contains some historical information about the area.

This almanac includes the traditional solstice and sunrise/sunset information, as well as essays on slavery and abolition.

Pitcher was governor of New York and a Congressman. His letter discusses the upcoming election and attacks on President Monroe.

The Yearly Meeting is a large Quaker body made up of many individual meetings; the Yearly Meeting is used to conduct business. This collection includes correspondence, addresses, reports, journals, scrapbooks, legal, land and legislative related papers, maps, lists, and administrative materials. Many of the earlier materials deal with visits to various Native American populations.

James Rankin remained loyal to Britain during the Revolutionary War, which led to the confiscation of his property. The collection includes materials from a court case requesting compensation.

Materials include correspondence between husband and wife Joseph and Rebecca Hawley, most of which is related to family matters. Also included are a variety of land deeds.

Materials include the letters, diaries, and commonplace book of Samuel Rhoads, which discuss abolition and the Free Produce Association, among other topics.

Includes numerous letters from and to Mary Robinson Morton about family life and society.

Includes the letters and diaries of Thomas Scattergood, an important Quaker minister who travelled throughout the Eastern United States and England. (MC 1000)

The collection includes materials from Edward Shippen Sr., Edward Shippen Jr., and Edward Burd, all of whom were involved in Philadelphia-area legal matters as judges or lawyers. The largest part of the collection deals with legal matters appearing before the Pennsylvania Courts such as divorce, assault, trespassing, murder, theft, counterfeiting, burglary, and property.

Includes letters and diaries of Mary Kite, a travelling Quaker minister who visited Ohio, Virginia, and North Carolina. (MC 1111)

This collection is composed of four volumes of Henry Simmons's journals, the majority of which are related to time Simmons spent with the Oneida and Seneca tribes.

This collection includes letters to George Washington Taylor, a Philadelphia storekeeper active in the abolition movement and one of the publishers of the magazine The Non-Slaveholder.

By Patricia Wakefield, published 1806.
Written in epistolary style; it also includes a map.

White was an engineer who helped to build the first canal to bring coal to Philadelphia via the Lehigh River and the first wire suspension bridge. His collection includes letters (both personal and business related), journals, financial information, and business papers.

This scrapbook of a nineteenth century New York woman includes materials from the history of Quakerism.

The Clark family lived in Indiana and Virginia. Their letters include information about school and farming; several family members later served in the Confederate army.