Research Guides: SPAN 340: The Moor in Spanish Literature / El moro en la literatura (HC): Background & Bibliographies

Background Sources

Oxford Bibliographies in Renaissance and Reformation
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Peer-reviewed annotated bibliographies on the renaissance and the reformation periods.
Oxford Bibliographies in Islamic Studies
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
An excellent place to start looking for additional writings on your topic. This source consists of annotated bibliographies on various topic. The entry on each topic start with a very short overview followed by suggestions for further reading on various aspects of the topic. The topics are listed alphabetically. To see a list of all of the topics covered click on the "Learn more about this subject" link in the left boxed column. Then scroll down after the new screen appears.
Oxford Bibliographies in Jewish Studies
- This link opens in a new window
Peer-reviewed annotated bibliographies on Jewish studies.

History Compass
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
This journal publishes literature reviews exclusively. Literature reviews are a particularly useful kind of journal article when doing research. They address the issues involved in a particular question and the debates among scholars. They map out the intellectual terrain succinctly and give you the major landmarks in terms of key authors and significant titles for greater understanding.

The Cambridge History of Spanish Literature
ISBN: 0521806186
Publication Date: 2005-01-13
Critical essays covering the full range of Spanish poetry, prose, and theatre from the early Middle Ages to 2004.
A History of the Spanish Novel
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
ISBN: 9780199641925
Publication Date: 2015-07-07
Comprehensive coverage of the history of the Spanish novel, from the sixteenth century to 2015.
Europe, 1450-1789 by Jonathan Dewald (Editor)
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Explores European history from 1450-1789, from the print revolution to the French Revolution. The set's 1,150 articles, written by eminent scholars, cover major topics in art, government and education as well as providing biographical entries on key figures of the period. Features include approximately 750 black-and-white photographs, 30 maps, a year-by-year chronology, a topical outline and index, a research guide and a comprehensive index.