Research Guides: ARCH 102 Introduction to Classical Archaeology (BMC): Finding Reference Works and Encyclopedias

Reference Materials

Oxford Classical Dictionary 5th edition
Provides coverage of Greek and Roman history, literature, myth, religion, linguistics, philosophy, law, science, art, and archaeology as well as topics in Near Eastern and Late Antique studies.

Grove Encyclopedia of Classical Art & Architecture
A reference resource for the visual arts of the Classical period. It features an abundance of in-depth articles on this field of enduring importance--from biographies to thematic entries on architecture, ceramics, metalwork, mosaics, painting and sculpture. The resource provides art historical and cultural information about art forms, artists, rulers, philosophers, architecture, renowned works of art, archaeological sites and stylistic developments.
Oxford Encyclopedia of Ancient Greece & Rome
Offers a comprehensive overview of the literature, history, archaeology, art, philosophy, science, and religion of the Greek and Roman world from the Bronze Age to the fifth century CE. It also covers the legacy of the classical world and its interpretation and influence in subsequent centuries.
Oxford Companion to Classical Civilization
Provides a survey of the Greek and Roman worlds in all their aspects. Offers articles on diverse fields such as, history and politics; ethics and morals; law and punishment; social and family life; language, literature, and art; religion and mythology; technology, science, and medicine.
Brill's New Pauly and Supplements
Includes bibliographical references and subject and keyword indexes for late antiquity and classical periods. Online version of Der neue Pauly--which includes 13 volumes on Antiquity, 5 on the Classical Tradition, and one index volume--and Brill's New Pauly. Screen displays are primarily in English, with some also available in German. The encyclopedia itself includes the original German work and its English translation.
Oxford Bibliographies in Classics
Provides bibilographies of and encyclopedic articles about over 50 topics in the classics. Includes introductions to each topic area, guides to introductory works, textbooks, guidebooks, journals, reference works etc., and links to useful websites. Bibliographies are browseable by subject area and keyword searchable.
Oxford Art Online
Oxford Art Online is an art reference library that includes Grove Art Online, The Oxford Companion to Western Art, The Concise Oxford Dictionary of Art Terms, The Encyclopedia of Aesthetics, and the Benezit Dictionary of Artists. Subject entries, biographies, images, biographies, and thematic timelines (antiquity to present).

Handbooks and Companions Volumes

Companion volumes and handbooks are great places to start learning about a topic before delving into complicated and detailed scholarly articles. They are comprised of chapters summarizing different topics related to a larger theme. There are companions and handbooks on many topics related to the ancient world e.g. architecture, art, medicine, literature, archaeology and so much more.

Find them in Tripod by doing a search using Boolean operators. For example: (companion OR handbook) AND [your topic]