A catalog of the holdings of books, journals, and other materials held by OCLC (Online Computer Library Center) member libraries. Includes manuscripts, maps, films and sound recordings. Covers works published before 1,000 BC-present.
2014. " This program presents a collection of rarely seen original film footage from Soundies and short films of the 1930s and 1940s. The films come from the private collection of Mark Cantor's Celluloid Improvisations Music Film Archive, a collection of 4000 preserved jazz-musicals , and from the Ernie Smith Jazz Film Collection, of the National Museum of American History, Smithsonian Institution. Every selection has been carefully researched by Andrew J. Nemr of the The Tap Legacy Foundation and was selected to educate and enlighten dance professionals and aficionados. The narration adds background information on the legendary performers in this program, such as Bill "Bojangles" Robinson, Bill Mahoney, the Berry Brothers, Slick and Slack, Juanita Pitts, and Stump and Stumpy."
Talking feet: Solo Southern dance : buck, flatfoot, and tap
Produced in 1985. "This captivating film focuses on the artistry and style of three of America's leading male tap dancers, Steve Condos, Jimmy Slyde and Chuck Green. Introduced by Gregory Hines, who shares his childhood memories of watching and imitating the tap dance greats at the Apollo Theater, ABOUT TAP features simply staged but bravura performances that display this engaging and graceful art at its finest. The films asks the question, "How does an artist discover his own individual style?" Through their recollections and performances, each of the featured dancers ofers a distinctive and highly entertaining answer"
Originally released as a documentary film in 1979. "Offers unique insight into jazz tap dancing as an indigenous art form. Veteran jazz tap dancing stars, including Bunny Briggs, Chuck Green and Sandman Sims, reminisce about their art and careers."
Streaming video of dance productions and documentaries by influential performers and companies of the 20th century. Selections cover world dance, ballet, tap, jazz, contemporary, experimental, and improvisational dance, as well as forerunners of the forms and the pioneers of modern concert dance. Videos can be browsed by people, role, ensemble, genre, and venue. Material types include documentaries, editorials, instructional, interviews, and performances.
AVON includes documentaries, interviews, performances, news programs and newsreels, field recordings, commercials, and raw footage in all academic areas. Users will find thousands of award-winning films, including Academy, Emmy, and Peabody winners.
Provides access to streaming documentaries of over 900 titles in the humanities and social sciences produced from 1978-present. Topical coverage includes race and gender studies, human rights, globalization and global studies, multiculturalism, international relations, criminal justice, the environment, bioethics, health, political science and current events, psychology, arts, literature, and more.
Use Tripod Books and More to find relevant books, scores, recordings, dissertations, journals and other material owned by Bryn Mawr, Haverford, and Swarthmore Colleges. Click on the "request" button at the bottom of an item's record to have it delivered to your library.
This is a gigantic catalog of millions of materials owned by libraries all over the world describing books, essays, scores, videos, sound recordings, websites, and manuscript collections. If you find something in WorldCat not owned by the Tri-Colleges we can probably get it for you.
Part of the New York Public Library, this catalog lists works about all forms of dance, from all cultures, in print and other media. Offers citation information for an international range of dance periodicals.
ProQuest Dissertations and Theses is a collection of scholarly research in the Humanities and Social Sciences that consists of 2.7 million searchable citations to dissertations and theses from around the world, and 1.2 million full-text dissertations that are available for download in PDF format. Coverage is from 1861 to the present day.