Research Guides: ANTH 103: Introduction to Anthropology (HC): Finding Articles

How to Find Scholarly Journal Articles

You can find articles from scholarly journals, along with newspaper and magazine articles by searching the library databases.
Some databases cover a wide-range of topics while others are subject specific. You can start your research using one of the general databases, but also try those listed under the subject you are researching. If you limit your search in our Database Finder according to subject, you will find what is referred to as our "Best Bets".
If you are not sure which databases to use, ask a Librarian for suggestions. Also look at the Research Guides to see if one was created for your topic.

Scholarly Journal Indexes

AnthroSource
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Use this database to find scholarly journal articles in Anthropology. Articles are from peer-reviewed journals published by the American Anthropological Association.
Anthropology Plus
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Use this database to find scholarly journal articles in Anthropology.
JSTOR
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Provides full-text and page images from many of the top journals in most academic disciplines. Coverage is from the inception of the journal through three to five years ago.
ProQuest Research Library
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Provides citations and full-text magazine and journal articles in a wide variety of disciplines, both scholarly and popular in scope. Covers 1971-present.

If a full-text PDF is not available, use the button to get full-text copies of articles.

A separate window will open with links either to a digital copy of the article, a locally available print copy, or an Article Delivery request form for ordering material not held by the tri-college libraries. To request items not held locally, simply enter your name and barcode and submit the request.

See the Search Tips tab for database strategies and recommended search terms.