Research Guides: DANC 045: Yoga (SC): Finding Videos

Suggestions

Yoga Journal Videos
Video demonstrations of a wide selection of yoga poses
Yoga Today Video Pose Directory

Streaming Video Collections

Dance in Video
Streaming video of dance productions and documentaries by influential performers and companies of the 20th century. Selections cover world dance, ballet, tap, jazz, contemporary, experimental, and improvisational dance, as well as forerunners of the forms and the pioneers of modern concert dance. Videos can be browsed by people, role, ensemble, genre, and venue. Material types include documentaries, editorials, instructional, interviews, and performances.

On The Boards TV
Videos of full-length performances by some of today's most provocative artists working in dance, theater, music and other forms that defy categorization.
Jacob's Pillow Dance Interactive
An online exhibit of performance excerpts spanning from 1930s dance pioneers to the present, all recorded at Jacob's Pillow Dance.
NYPL Dance Division Digital Collections
Jerome Robbins Dance Division of The New York Public Library is the largest and most comprehensive archive in the world devoted to the documentation of dance. Chronicling the art of dance in all its forms, the Division acts as much more than a library. We preserve the history of dance by gathering diverse written, visual, and aural resources, and work to ensure the art form's continuity through active documentation and educational programs.

Medici.tv
The largest online catalogue of classical music, opera and dance videos.
Academic Video Online: Premium
AVON includes documentaries, interviews, performances, news programs and newsreels, field recordings, commercials, and raw footage in all academic areas. Users will find thousands of award-winning films, including Academy, Emmy, and Peabody winners.
Ethnographic Video Online
Ethnographic Video Online is a comprehensive online resource for the study of human culture, behavior and society around the world. The collections contain over 1,300 hours of streaming video, including ethnographic films, documentaries, select feature films, and previously unpublished fieldwork.
Filmakers Library Online
Provides access to streaming documentaries of over 900 titles in the humanities and social sciences produced from 1978-present. Topical coverage includes race and gender studies, human rights, globalization and global studies, multiculturalism, international relations, criminal justice, the environment, bioethics, health, political science and current events, psychology, arts, literature, and more.
Films On Demand
Provides streaming video for over 4,000 titles in the humanities and social sciences from the Films Media Group.
Opera in Video
Streaming videos of important opera performances, captured through staged productions, interviews, and documentaries. Selections represent the world's leading performers, conductors, and opera houses and are based on a work's importance to the operatic canon. BRYN MAWR has the majority but not all videos in this collection.
Met Opera on Demand
More than 450 Metropolitan Opera performances streamed online. Dozens of Live in HD productions, classic telecasts from the 1970s, '80s, '90s, and '00s, and hundreds of radio broadcasts dating back to 1936
Docuseek
Independent, social-issue and environmental documentaries from Bullfrog Films, Icarus Films, and more.

Searching

TriCollege Libraries Catalog
Use Tripod Books and More to find relevant books, scores, recordings, dissertations, journals and other material owned by Bryn Mawr, Haverford, and Swarthmore Colleges. Click on the "request" button at the bottom of an item's record to have it delivered to your library.
WorldCat
This is a gigantic catalog of millions of materials owned by libraries all over the world describing books, essays, scores, videos, sound recordings, websites, and manuscript collections. If you find something in WorldCat not owned by the Tri-Colleges we can probably get it for you.
New York Public Library Dance Catalog
Part of the New York Public Library, this catalog lists works about all forms of dance, from all cultures, in print and other media. Offers citation information for an international range of dance periodicals.
ProQuest Dissertations and Theses
ProQuest Dissertations and Theses is a collection of scholarly research in the Humanities and Social Sciences that consists of 2.7 million searchable citations to dissertations and theses from around the world, and 1.2 million full-text dissertations that are available for download in PDF format. Coverage is from 1861 to the present day.