Research Guides: ARTH 001C: Making Art History (SC): How to find scholars' analysis of art works

Scholarly databases in Art History

Try using the online databases listed below to find research on topics in art history. Although JSTOR and Tripod are great resources, these art-specific databases can help you find a more manageable number of more relevant results.

You can use these databases to find:

• Articles from scholarly journals in art history

• Book reviews of scholarly books (check Tripod to find the book being reviewed)

How to find scholarly analysis of art

Art Full Text
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Search for journal articles, museum bulletins and yearbooks in the fields of art, architecture, decorative arts and photography. Includes sources published from 1929-present.

Search tip: Once you're on the EBSCO page, click the "Choose Databases" link at the top. Check the box for "Art Source" and then run your search. Art Source is a resource the TriCo Libraries are trialing this month - it can be helpful for finding scholarly articles in art history.
International Bibliography of Art
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Provides coverage of scholarship on European art from late antiquity to the present, American art from the colonial era to the present, and global art since 1945; visual arts, decorative and applied arts, museum studies and conservation, archaeology and classical studies, antiques and architectural history; scholarship from 500 core journals, plus detailed coverage of monographs, essay collections, conference proceedings and exhibition catalogues. International coverage, with at least 60% of records from non-English-language publications.
ARTbibliographies Modern
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Abstracts of articles, books, exhibition catalogs and reviews of modern and contemporary art, including photography, sculpture and art history and theory. Subject coverage from the 19th century on. Some indexing of publications back to 1960s; full text often available for publications since ca. 2000.
ProQuest Arts and Humanities Database
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
This ProQuest full-text journal database, formerly known as "ProQuest Arts and Humanities Full Text" has been created to complement the CSA Illumina portfolio of Arts and Humanities databases. Subscribers to any of these databases - including ARTBibliographies Modern, Design and Applied Arts Index, British Humanities Index, MLA International Bibliography and Philosopher's Index amongst others - can link directly from citations in these indexes to the corresponding full-text articles. The contents reflect the full interdisciplinarity of contemporary study in the arts and humanities, with the inclusion of selected titles from related fields that are also covered by these indexes, such as ethnic and area studies, politics, economics and women's studies.
JSTOR
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Provides full-text and page images from many of the top journals in most academic disciplines. Coverage is from the inception of the journal through three to five years ago.