Research Guides: ANTH 216 : Women and Power (HC): Finding Background Information

Women at Work

Encyclopedias for Anthropology

The following sources provide overviews of issues and topics in anthropology and gender studies. When using an article in an encyclopedia or handbook, always check the bibliography at the end of the article for further reading. It will provide a selective list of the books, articles, and, sometimes, Web resources considered to be the most up-to-date and reliable. This makes a good start for your research.

Encyclopedia of Anthropology
A collection of over 1000 articles that focus on topics in all branches of anthropology. Entries on methodology and on theorists will be especially helpful in suggesting new directions to explore.
Encyclopedia of Social and Cultural Anthropology
Like the other encyclopedia published by Routledge (Companion Encyclopedia of Anthropology), there is an emphasis on theory in both the articles and the sources listed for further reading. The Companion addresses broad topics in long essay format rather than the usual shorter entries found in encyclopedias.
International Encyclopedia of the Social & Behavioral Sciences
A very large synthesis of social science thought. Especially good for the varied focuses that it gives each topic. Much attention given to theorists.
21st Century Anthropology
This handbook is particularly rich in articles on theory and research methods. Note the select list of sources for further reading at the end of articles.

Encyclopedias for Gender and Women's Studies

Encyclopedia of Gender and Society
This prize-winning set provides framing, overview essays as well as topical articles relating to gender. The former summarize important concepts and directions of research and provide an overview of each area including Media and Gender Socialization; Religion; Sexuality and Reproduction; History of Women's Social Movements
Encyclopedia of Sex and Gender: Culture, Society, History
This online version of a scholarly, four-volume reference set examines issues of identity, status, class, ethnicity, race, and nation; of sexuality and the body; and of social institutions and the structures of representation--all through the lens of gender. Note also that articles provide sources for further reading.

Background Readings for Anthropology of Class/ Body/ Space

Anthropologies of Class by James G. Carrier (Editor); Don Kalb (Editor)
ISBN: 9781107087415

Publication Date: 2015-02-05

This book explores the concept of class and its importance for understanding the key sources of that inequality and of people's attempts to deal with it.
At Home by Irene Cieraad
ISBN: 0815605625

Publication Date: 1999-04-01

A collection of articles that focus on the practices and symbols displayed in domestic spaces of western society.
Beyond the Body Proper: Reading the Anthropology of Material Life by Margaret M Lock & Judith Farquhar, Eds
ISBN: 9780822338307

Publication Date: 2007

Beyond the Body Proper includes nine sections conceptually organized around themes such as everyday life, sex and gender, and science. Each section is preceded by interpretive commentary by the volume's editors. Within the collection are articles and book excerpts focused on bodies using tools and participating in rituals, on bodies walking and eating, and on the female circumcision controversy, as well as pieces on medical classifications, spirit possession, the commodification of body parts, in vitro fertilization, and an artist/anatomist's "plastination" of cadavers for display.
The Body by Mike Featherstone (Editor); Mike Hepworth (Editor); Bryan S. Turner (Editor)
ISBN: 080398412X

Publication Date: 1991-02-01

This volume explores the origins of a social theory of the body in sources ranging from the work of Nietzsche to contemporary feminist theory. The importance of a theoretical understanding of the body to social and cultural analysis of contemporary societies is demonstrated through specific case studies. These range from the expression of the emotions, romantic love, dietary practice, consumer culture, fitness and beauty, to media images of women and sexuality.
A Companion to the Anthropology of the Body and Embodiment by Frances E. Mascia-Lees (Editor)
ISBN: 9781405189491

Publication Date: 2011-05-06

Covers historical and contemporary approaches and frameworks related to the increasing importance of embodiment and its ethnographic contexts within anthropology

Background Readings for Gender and Women's Studies

Companion to Gender Studies
Features substantive essays written by recognized scholars on a range of important topics. Related to your projects see in particular:
"Lived Body versus Gender"
"Unions: Resistance and Mobilization"
"Space and Cultural Meanings"
Fifty Key Concepts in Gender Studies
Features explanations of major ideas and approaches in gender studies.
Framed by Gender: How Gender Inequality Persists in the Modern World
This book by Cecilia Ridgeway identifies ways in which gender inequalities persist and how they rewrite themselves into new social circumstances.
Handbook of Feminist Research: Theory and Praxis
Presents substantive essays on feminist methodologies as well as case studies. See such pieces as:
"Authority and Representation in Feminist Research"
"Feminist Designs for Difference"

Web Sites

ARD: The Anthropology Review Database
Reviews of over 3500 titles in anthropology. Some are full text in the database, while others need to be located in Tripod or requested as article deliveries.
Women and Gender Studies Web Sites
An up-to-date subject portal maintained by the Association of College and Research Libraries.

ANTH 216 : Women and Power (HC)

Subject Guide