Research Guides: Health Economics Data (SC): Health Insurance Coverage

Quick Statistics: Health Insurance (US)

PolicyMap
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Use this database for quick statistics on health insurance coverage and other health-related topics at the national, state, county, and local levels.

Disparities in Access to Health Services (HealthyPeople 2020)
Quickly compare insurance coverage rates for demographic groups. Includes health, dental, and prescription insurance. Data from National Health Interview Survey and Medicare Expenditure Panel Survey.

The Census Bureau collects health insurance data using three national surveys:

Current Population Survey (CPS): Health Insurance
The Current Population Survey (CPS) is a household sample survey conducted monthly by the Census Bureau to provide estimates of employment, unemployment, and other characteristics of the US population.
American Community Survey (ACS): Health Insurance Coverage
The American Community Survey (ACS) is conducted yearly by the US Census Bureau. The ACS provides up-to-date information about education, housing, jobs and more.
Survey of Income and Program Participation
Run by the United States Census Bureau, SIPP collects data and measures change for many topics including: economic well-being, family dynamics, education, assets, health insurance, childcare, and food security.
more...less...
The main objective of the SIPP has been, and continues to be, to provide accurate and comprehensive information about the income and program participation of individuals and households in the United States. The survey’s mission is to provide a nationally representative sample for evaluating: 1) annual and sub-annual income dynamics; 2) movements into and out of government transfer programs; 3) family and social context of individuals and households; and 4) interactions among these items. A major use of the SIPP has been to evaluate the use of and eligibility for government programs and to analyze the impacts of modifications to those programs.

Employer Health Benefits Survey (Kaiser Family Foundation)
This annual survey of employers provides a detailed look at trends in employer-sponsored health coverage including premiums, employee contributions, cost-sharing provisions, and employer opinions.
Archives: 1998-2019