Research Guides: PSYC 289: Laboratory in Clinical Psychology (BMC): Background Reading

Getting Started

Searching or browsing reference resources provide concise topic overviews and can inform you as to how experts describe the topic you are researching. Many encyclopedia entries cite signature empirical studies and review articles in the the bibliographies, which can lead you to potential sources for your paper.

APA Handbook of Clinical Psychology
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Provides a comprehensive overview of the history of clinical psychology, specialties and settings, theoretical and research approaches, assessment, treatment and prevention, psychological disorders, health and relational disorders, health promotion, educational paths, psychologists' development, ethics and standards, professional organizations, and future directions of clinical psychology.
Corsini Encyclopedia of Psychology
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Provides full-text access to an authoritative, comprehensive, and current reference work. Covers all areas of psychology. Articles are signed and contain references and suggested readings. Fully searchable by keyword and browsable by topic.

Tripod Books

Books will often provide a broad overview of a topic or a collection of scholarly of articles related to a particular topic. This can help you gain a better understanding of your topic before searching for empirical research articles.

Close Relationships by Harry T. Reis (Editor); Caryl E. Rusbult (Editor)
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
ISBN: 0863775950
Publication Date: 2004-07-21
The study of close relationships is both a central topic in social psychology, and also one of the most dynamic and exciting. Each chapter in this reader is written by scholars in the area of relationships. Together, they reflect the diversity of the field in this work.
Emotion Regulation in Couples and Families by Douglas K. Snyder (Editor); Jeffry A. Simpson (Editor)
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
ISBN: 1591473942
Publication Date: 2006-05-15
This is an edited book that addresses critical theoretical and methodological issues in the rapidly advancing field of emotion regulation. It presents empirical findings linking emotion regulation to individual and relationship functioning across the life span, while providing implications for clinical intervention, public policy, and future research.
Handbook of Emotion Regulation by James J. Gross (Editor)
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
ISBN: 9781462503506
Publication Date: 2013-12-05
Reviewing the state of the science in a dynamic, thriving field, this influential handbook integrates knowledge from multiple psychological subdisciplines. Foremost experts address the neurobiological and cognitive bases of emotion regulation and examine how individuals develop and use regulatory strategies across the lifespan.
Interdisciplinary Research on Close Relationships by Lorne Campbell (Editor); Thomas J. Loving (Editor)
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
ISBN: 9781433810725
Publication Date: 2011-12-15
This book brings together different perspectives on close relationships to explore how such relationships develop, function, and interact across a variety of contexts. Both early and adult relationships are examined, along with parent-child relationships.
The Regulation of Emotion by Pierre Philippot (Editor); Robert S. Feldman (Editor); Antoine Bechara (Contribution by); Susan Calkins (Contribution by); Nancy Eisenberg (Contribution by)
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
ISBN: 0805842012
Publication Date: 2004-06-02
The main goal of this volume is to present, in an integrated framework, the newest, most contemporary perspectives on emotion regulation. The book includes empirically-grounded work and theories that are central to our understanding of the processes that constitute emotion regulation and their consequences.
Sex and Gender Differences in Personal Relationships by Daniel J. Canary; Tara M. Emmers-Sommer; Sandra Faulkner
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
ISBN: 1572302569
Publication Date: 1997-10-11
This volume is suitable for students, scholars, and researchers in communication, social psychology, marriage and family studies, and gender studies as well as clinicians working with individuals, couples, and families.