HIST 204: Women, Gender and American Society to 1870 (HC)

Currently offers over 500 substantive, peer-reviewed, and regularly updated essays concerning American history. New essays are added regularly. Especially useful for analysis and discussion of recent scholarship. Note the bibliographies and references to related articles at the ends of entries. Use the Browse by Subject link to see listings by topic area.

Scholarly dictionary of American biography. Useful not only for the up-to-date sketches of peoples' lives but also for the references to further sources.

Susan Ware emphasizes the richly diverse experiences of American women as they were shaped by factors such as race, class, religion, geographical location, age, and sexual orientation.

A Companion to American Cultural History offers a historiographic overview of the scholarship, with special attention to the major studies and debates that have shaped the field, and an assessment of where it is currently headed. 30 essays explore the history of American culture at all analytic levels Written by scholarly experts well-versed in the questions and controversies that have activated interest in this burgeoning field Part of the authoritative Blackwell Companions to American History series Provides both a chronological and thematic approach: topics range from British America in the Eighteenth Century to the modern day globalization of American Culture; thematic approaches include gender and sexuality and popular culture

This collection of twenty-four original essays by leading scholars in American women's history highlights the most recent important scholarship on the key debates and future directions of this field.

Wide-ranging in scope, this encyclopedia draws on a variety of disciplines, including history, literature, psychology, sociology, and gender and queer studies. Entries are substantive and coverage was developed under an international editorial board.

Comprehensive collection of scholarship focused on the lives and events which have shaped African American and African history and culture. Features articles by top scholars in the field, images, primary sources with specially written commentaries, maps, charts and tables, and biographies.

Offers a fresh, wide-ranging assessment of this major American literary genre. The essays, written by experts in the field, provide a long-overdue assessment of the state of the genre and the vital scholarship that continues to grow around it, work that is offering some of the most provocative analysis emerging out of recent studies.

"Everything you know about Indians is wrong." As the title of a recent book proclaims, most of what is generally known is the fruit of stereotypes and vague images. This book presents an accurate and comprehensive history of the indigenous peoples who lived-and live-in the territory that became the United States.

Twenty-nine essays illustrate how women's and gender history can shape how we view the past.

Offers penetrating, original, and authoritative essays on the history and historiography of the institution of slavery in the New World. With essays on colonial and antebellum America, Brazil, the Caribbean, the Indies, and South America, the Handbook has impressive geographic and temporal coverage. It also includes a generous range of thematic essays on comparative slavery, the economics of slavery, historical methodology in the field, slavery and the law.

Brings together contributions from leading scholars to provide a far-reaching but concrete history of sexuality in the United States. This interdisciplinary group of authors explores a wide variety of case studies and concepts to provide an innovative approach to the history of sexual practices and identities over several centuries.

Presents nearly thirty chapters on essential subjects and themes from colonial times through the present, this collection covers topics including: rural vs. urban queer histories; gender and sexual diversity in early American history; intersectionality, exploring queerness in association with issues of race and class; queerness and American capitalism; the rise of queer histories, archives, and collective memory; and transnationalism and queer history.