Research Guides: HIST 350: Madness (HC): Journal Articles

Indexes

Journal articles and other periodical publications provide scholarly information on specific aspects of history and the history of science. Since articles are generally published on a shorter schedule than books, they can be more-up-to-date. The following indexes are the best ways for you to identify journal articles:

History of science, technology, and medicine
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Indexes the scholarly literature in the fields of the history of medicine and science. It includes both journal articles and chapter-length material from books.

Historical Abstracts
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Provides abstracts of journal articles, books, book reviews and dissertations that cover world history from 1450 to the present (excluding the U.S. and Canada which are covered in "America: History and Life"). Includes publications from 1953-present.
Swarthmore has access to the full text.

America: History & Life
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Indexes journal articles and book reviews covering the history and culture of the United States and Canada, from prehistory to the present. Covers international scholarship in more than 40 languages.
Bibliography of British and Irish history
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Indexes historical writing dealing with the British Isles, and with the British Empire and Commonwealth, during all periods of history. Note that you can specify the time period coverage you want.

International Medieval Bibliography Online
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Provides abstracts and citations to articles on medieval subjects in journals, Festschriften, conference proceedings, and collected essays. Covers all aspects of medieval studies within the period 450 to 1500 for Europe, the Middle East and North Africa.
PubMed
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Includes over 15 million citations for biomedical articles including those which treat historical topics. These citations are from MEDLINE and additional life science journals. Includes links to many sites providing full text articles and other related resources.

Specific Subjects

There are also indexes devoted to literary history, philosophy and art history that may be of use for specific topics:

Art Full Text
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Offers abstracts of journals, museum bulletins and yearbooks in the fields of art, architecture, decorative arts and photography. Covers abstracts from 1929-present, full-text articles 1997-present.

Feminae
In addition to indexing journal articles, book reviews, essays and images concerning women, sexuality and gender in Europe, North Africa and the Middle East, from 450 C.E. to 1500 C.E., the database also indexes primary sources, both complete texts and excerpts from anthologies.

MLA International Bibliography
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Database of scholarly books and articles related to literature, language, linguistics, film, theater and folklore. Includes scholarship from 1926 to the present.
Philosopher's Index
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Provides citations and abstracts of journal articles, books, anthology contributions and book reviews published worldwide. Topics covered include: ethics, aesthetics, social philosophy, political philosophy, epistemology, philosophy of law, religion, science, history, education, and language. Covers 1940-present. Contains over 328,000 records as of August 2005. Monitors over 550 journals from more than 40 countries.

Recent Journals for Browsing

Watch for these authoritative journal titles when you are searching indexes and scanning footnotes. You can also browse the latest issues online or in paper because it takes some time for indexes to add newly published articles:

Early science and medicine
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Isis
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Journal of the history of medicine and allied sciences
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window