Skip to main content

Urbanization in Africa - Sources in Bryn Mawr's Special Collections

Guide to Special Collections holdings on the history of African cities, for Urbanization in Africa course

East Africa - Former British Colonies

Guidebooks and travel accounts that cover all or most of British East Africa, including Kenya, Uganda, Tanganyika and Zambia. For works focused on those individual countries and colonies, see the boxes below.

Eastern Africa and Rhodesia : historical and descriptive commercial and industrial facts, figures, & resources . London : W.H. & L. Collingridge, 1930. f   DT365.18.E@ 1930

East African annual. Nairobi, Kenya : s.n., ff   DT421 .E3  1930-35

Equatorial Africa; an illustrated guide.  Nairobi, Motor Tours [1931?] DT349.8. E6 1931

Lugard, Frederick John Dealtry, The rise of our East African empire. Edinburgh and London, W. Blackwood and Sons, 1893. 2 vols. DT423 .L95 1893 

The south and east african year book and guide. London : Sampson Low, Marston & Co., Ltd., Volumes for 1911-12, 1930, 1936 and 1940.  DT752 .Y4 1911-12, etc.   

Ward, H. F., comp. Handbook of British East Africa, 1912; Nairobi: The Caxton [B.E.A.] Printing and Pub. Co., 1912. DT423.W27 1912

Younghusband, Ethel. Glimpses of East Africa and Zanzibar. London, J. Long, ltd., 1910. DT425 .Y6 1910

Kenya, Malawi, Sudan, Tanzania, Uganda, Zambia

KENYA

City of Nairobi / compiled and drawn by Survey of Kenya. Nairobi : Survey of Kenya, 1964. Map: G8414.N2 1964 .S8

Survey of Kenya. National atlas of Kenya. 3d ed. [Nairobi] 1970. ff G2530.K42 1970

MALAWI

British Information Services.  Malawi.  New York: British Information Services, Reference Division, 1964.   DT862.2 .G7.

Nyasaland.  A handbook of Nyasaland.  London, Pub. for the government of Nyasaland by the crown agents for the colonies, 1922  DT858.N8 1922

SUDAN

Sudan almanac.  Khartoum, 1957  DT154.4 .S8 1957

TANZANIA

The Handbook of Tanganyika.  London, Macmillan and Co., Limited, 1930  DT438 .H3 1930  

Great Britain. Foreign Office. Historical Section. Tanganyika: German East Africa.  London, H.M. Stationery Off., 1920. DT437.7 .G73 1920 

Luhikula, Gratian. Tourist guide to Tanzania Dar es Salaam : National Printing Company , c1985.   DT437.7 .L84 1985.    

Pearce, Francis Barrow.  Zanzibar, the island metropolis of eastern Africa.  London, T.F. Unwin [1920].  DT435.P4 1920   

Shelswell-White, Geoffrey Henry.  A guide to Zanzibar; a detailed account of Zanzibar, town and island, including general information about the Protectorate, and a description of itineraries for the use of visitors Zanzibar, Printed by the Govt. Printer, 1949.  DT435.S67 1949      

UGANDA

Great Britain. War Office. Intelligence Division. Précis of information concerning the Uganda Protectorate.  London, H. M. Stationery Off., 1902. DT433.227 .P74 1902

The handbook of Uganda.  London, Pub. for the government of the Uganda Protectorate by the Crown Agents for the Colonies, 1920. DT434.U2  A5 1920

Uganda. Dept. of Public Relations and Social Welfare. Uganda. [Uxbridge, Middlesex, Eng., Printed by King & Hutchings, 1949] DT434.U2 A52 1949

Saben's commercial directory and handbook of Uganda. Kampala, Uganda, Saben's Directories.  HC517.U2 S3 1950    

ZAMBIA

Northern Rhodesia. Information Department.  The Northern Rhodesia handbook.  Lusaka: Issued by the Northern Rhodesia Information Department, 1950.  DT3041 .N67 1950.

Northern Rhodesia, touring, fishing, hunting.  [Lusaka, Govt. Printer, 1938?].  DT3041.N67 1938

Williams, Geoffrey J.  Peugeot guide to Lusaka. Lusaka: Zambia Geographical Association, 1983. DT963.9.L87 W55 1984 

Ethiopia, Eritrea, Somalia

ETHIOPIA AND ITALIAN EAST AFRICA

Bertarelli, L. V. (Luigi Vittorio). Possedimenti e colonie: Isole Egee, Tripolitánia, Cirenáica, Eritréa, Somália.    Milano [Touring club italiano] 1929.  DT214.B4 1929

Budge, E. A. Wallis.  A history of Ethiopia, Nubia & Abyssinia. London, Methuen [1928].  2 vols. DT381 .B8 1928 

Consociazione Turistica Italiana.  Africa Orientale Italiana.   Milano : Consociazione Turistica Italiana, 1938.  Dt367.2.A3 1935

Lolli, Mario.Abissinia.  Tivoli, "Mantero", 1935.  f DT378 .L6 1935

Stern, Henry Aaron, Wanderings among the Falashas in Abyssinia; together with a description of the country and its various inhabitants.  London, Wertheim, Macintosh, and Hunt, 1862. DT377.S85 1862  

SOMALIA

Vecchi, B. Valentino (Bernardo Valentino), Somalia (vicende e problemi). Milano, O. Marangoni, 1935.  DT416.v43 1935