Skip to main content

Urbanization in Africa - Sources in Bryn Mawr's Special Collections

Guide to Special Collections holdings on the history of African cities, for Urbanization in Africa course

Books on African cities in the Bryn Mawr College Library's Special Collections Department

The Special Collections Department at Bryn Mawr includes a large number of 19th and early 20th century books that contain extensive written descriptions, maps, and illustrations of cities in Africa.  Most of the books are in English or French, but there are also works in German, Italian, Spanish and Portuguese.  The list of books in this guide is not a comprehensive list of everything related to Africa in Special Collections, but it includes the works with the most extensive information on cities.

Special Collections is open from 9:00 to 4:30 Monday through Friday, and 9:00 to 8:00 on Wednesdays except during Fall and Spring Break.  Emailing or calling in advance is recommended to ensure that the books you want to use will be ready for you.

General Works

Atlas universel : contenant la geographie physique, politique, historique, economique, militaire, agricole, industrielle et commerciale des cinq parties du monde / avec la statistique la plus recente & la plus complete par F. de la Brug`ere.  Paris : Fayard, [1895] f G1019.D35 1895

Hanotaux, Gabriel. Histoire des colonies francaises et de l’expansion de la France dans le monde. Paris : Librairie Plon, 1930.  JV1811 .H25 1929  v. 2, 4, 6. (note: all 6 volumes are at Swarthmore).

Pollachi, Paul.   Atlas colonial français : colonies, protectorats et pays sous mandat / cartes et texte du commandant P. Pollacchi;   [Paris]: L'Illustration, 1929. ff  G1937 .L4 1929.

 

Subject Guide

Eric Pumroy's picture
Eric Pumroy
Have questions?
Need a research appointment?

Have questions?
Need a research appointment?

Schedule an Appointment
Contact:
epumroy@brynmawr.edu
Subjects:History, Philosophy