POLS 131: Introduction to Comparative Politics (HC)

+++ Commentary and annotated bibliographies by top scholars detailing key sources on a range of topics in pertinent fields including Political Science and International Relations. Check the items in the "Related Titles" box for additional bibliographies related to your interests. This series is under development and adds new entries twice a year.
BMC students for the entry from the Hinduism section below connect to the Haverford icon (H above) rather than the linked title. Login with your BMC credentials to access the entries from that collection.
European Social Democracy (from the Political Science section. See in particular entries under France)
Gender Quotas in Politics (from the Political Science section) Includes material about France and India.
Indian Democracy (from the Political Science section)
Nigeria (from the International Relations section)
Nigerian Politics and Government (from the Political Science section)
Paris (from the Urban Studies section)
Political Economy of India (from the Political Science section)
Political Hinduism (from the Hinduism section)
Politics of Oil (from the Political Science section)
Populism and Global Politics (from the International Relations section)

Provides detailed profiles of all of the countries of the world. Offers information on each country's geography, people, government, economy, communications, military, and transnational issues, as well as maps and flags. The current edition is continually updated.

This book presents a comprehensive overview of the contemporary experiences of democracy in India. Case studies by contributing scholars provide methodological vantage point for the study of democracy in India. Published in 2021. On order for Haverford.

This is the home page for the government of France. You can find news, official statements, profiles of government leaders and much more.

Find links here for the Indian parliament, constitution, and government documents. See also the topical links for such areas as Social Development and Health and Family Welfare.

In over 400 peer-reviewed entries, readers will find authoritative overviews of key methodologies and approaches, as well as all of the major topics in African politics. BMC students use the Haverford icon to connect. Log in with your BMC credentials. Haverford's ebook is available because you are currently taking this class at Haverford.

The volume encompasses 44 chapters organized thematically into essays covering history, political institutions, civil society, economic and social policy, identity and insecurity, and Nigeria in a globalized world. Published in 2018.

The first section identifies foundational concepts, including republicanism and social welfare; the second focuses on thematic large-scale processes, such as identity, governance, and globalization; and the third section examines a wide range of issues relating to politics and policy, including representation, political culture, social movements, economic policy and gender policy. Published in 2016.

+++ This authoritative reference book provides detailed information on the major aspects of each country's government and political parties. See the articles on France, India, and Nigeria. Because the handbook is updated regularly it is a good source for information on current events, elections, political history, and more.

The Inter-Parliamentary Union maintains this database of information about houses of parliament worldwide.

The first section of the book pertains to India, and has essays on various topics, including but not limited to: authoritarianism, democracy, and gender. Published in 2022

Includes speeches and press releases as well as material concerning public policy. See also the website for the National Assembly.

Publishes literature reviews by scholars in the field. They tend to explore a topic in depth. Use the Advanced Search function to find relevant articles in related fields, as in the examples below:
Identity Politics and Populism in Europe in the Annual Review of Political Science (2020)
Populism, Democracy, and Party System Change in Europe in the Annual Review of Political Science (2021)
Populism Studies: The Case for Theoretical and Comparative Reconstruction in the Annual Review of Sociology (2021). See references to India and to Modi.
Vicious Circles: Violence, Vulnerability, and Climate Change in the Annual Review of Environment and Resources (2021). See references to Nigeria and to Boko Haram.

Includes a range of overview essays including: "National Identity," "Ethnicity and Ethnic Conflict," and "The Poor Performance of Poor Democracies." Published in 2007.

See research, publications, and corruption by country and topic under the tab "What We Do."

Note in particular the country profiles and the Human Development Reports.

Contains over 600 entries on the essential topics of globalization ... Covers [such] topics in the study of globalization as: Americanization, ethnic cleansing, exploitation, feminization of poverty, genocide, global warming, oil, sport, terror, transnational corporations, and water crisis. Includes a number of key documents listed as entries such as the Kyoto Protocol and The Universal Declaration of Human Rights. Published 2012-2017.

Contains over 600 entries exploring social and political movements and related collective phenomena throughout the world. Published in 2013-2022.

"The WomanStats Project is the most comprehensive compilation of information on the status of women in the world. The Project facilitates understanding the linkage between the situation of women and the security of nation-states. We comb the extant literature and conduct expert interviews to find qualitative and quantitative information on over 310 indicators of women's status in 174 countries. Our Database expands daily, and access to it is free of charge." - website description.