Research Guides: POLS 213: Oil, Politics, Economy, and Society (HC): Background Information

Background Reading on Politics and Oil

Congressional Quarterly (CQ) Researcher
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Original reporting and analysis on issues in the news, focusing on the economy, education, the environment, health, international affairs, social trends, and technology. Published weekly, 1991-present.

Handbook of global environmental politics
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Includes a variety of articles linking ecological concerns with political issues.
Handbook of Oil Politics
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Includes essays on production and consumption generally as well as studies of oil-producing regions and individual countries. The title is also available as an ebook.
Oxford Companion to the Economics of Africa
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
See in particular the essays "African Development Prospects" and "Governance and Political Economy" as well as the individual country studies.

Political Handbook of the World
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
This authoritative reference book provides detailed information on the major aspects of each country's government and political parties. Because the handbook is updated regularly it is a good source for information on current events, elections, political history, and more.

Wiley-Blackwell Encyclopedia of Globalization
- This link opens in a new window
The Wiley-Blackwell Encyclopedia of Globalization contains over 600 entries on the essential topics of globalization,. Note in particular the substantive articles on oil (petroleum) and on ecological problems.

Natural Resources Defense Council
This link gives you results for a search on "oil" among the NRDC's research reports.
1973-74 Oil Crisis
The University of California, Berkeley Library profiles the 1973-74 oil crisis in economic and social terms. The webpage includes a brief bibliography for further reading.
Oil/Energy/Commerce/Finance
This is part of the Gulf/2000 Project to provide up-to-date research sources concerning the politics and economy of the Persian Gulf countries. The resources on oil come from the Middle East, international organizations, and the U. S. government.
Organization of the Petroleum Exporting Countries
This English version of the website includes data, graphs, and publications.
U. S. Energy Information Administration: Petroleum and Other Liquids
Offers data, trends, analysis, and projections for oil production worldwide.