Research Guides: POLS 357: International Relations Theory: Conflict and the Middle East (HC) [Spring 2017]: Literature Reviews

Literature Reviews

Literature reviews are a particularly useful resource when doing research. They address the issues involved in a specific question and the debates among scholars. They map out the intellectual terrain succinctly and give you the major landmarks in terms of key authors and significant titles for greater understanding.

Annual review of political science
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Covers significant developments in every field of Political Science including political theory and philosophy, international relations, and political economy. The narrative highlights significant articles, books and other studies giving you a head start with your research.
Recent articles of interest include:
"Is There an Islamist Political Advantage?" (2014)
Oxford Bibliographies Online: Political Science
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
The Oxford Bibliographies Online lay out the parameters of a field and evaluate the importance of individual books and journal articles in the form of an annotated bibliography. They are valuable for identifying authoritative sources on your topic.
This volume is under development with more entries being added twice a year. Essays of interest now available include:
"Politics of Oil" by Steve Yetiv
"Comparative Politics of the Middle East and North Africa by Sean L. Yom.

Dissertations & Theses
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
ProQuest Dissertations and Theses is a collection in the Humanities and Social Sciences of 2.7 million searchable citations to dissertations and theses from around the world, and 1.2 million full-text dissertations that are available for download. The sources cited in bibliographies tend to be extensive and well researched.

Theses relevant to Middle East politics include:
Pluralism, co-optation and capture: Navigating the civil society arena in the Arab world.
Yerkes, Sarah. Georgetown University, 2012.
Abstract
The Domestic Sources of Regional Orders: Explaining Instability in the Middle East.
Mansour, Imad. McGill University (Canada), 2009.
Abstract