Research Guides: ARTS 216: History of Photography from 1839 to the Present (HC): Biography

Comprehensive Encyclopedias

Oxford Art Online
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
This searches an encyclopedia of art. It has biographies of hundreds of photographers. The bibliographies of the entries often have full text links.
Gale Biography in Context
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
A search brings back many results. Look for the citation "Contemporary Photographers" under "Reference" it will be the most useful source. However this particular source was published in 1995 and hence will not include information after that time.

General Biographical Sources

American National Biography
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Offers portraits of more than 18,000 men and women, from all eras and walks of life, whose lives have shaped the nation. No living person is included.
Oxford Dictionary of National Biography
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Contains biographies of people who shaped the history of the British Isles and beyond,from the earliest times to the year 2001. Articles focus on noteworthy people from all walks of life. No living person is included. Coverage varies.

Other Resources

Art in America
The August issue of Art in America has an artist index. You can use this index to find which galleries represent the photographer that you are researching.

Biographical Information from Photography Sources

Encyclopedia of Nineteenth-Century Photography by John Hannavy (Editor)
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Publication Date: 2007-08-24
Long entries with bibliographies. Also features topical articles.
Encyclopedia of Twentieth-Century Photography by Lynne Warren (Editor)
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
ISBN: 1579583938
Publication Date: 2005-11-15
Long entries with bibliographies. Also features topical articles.
The Oxford Companion to the Photograph by Robin Lenman (Editor)
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Publication Date: 2005-12-01
Has concise, authoritative entries.
The Abrams Encyclopedia of Photography by Quentin Bajac; Christian Caujolle
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Publication Date: 2004-11-01
In outlining nearly two centuries of this innovative art form, this book touches on some of photography's key themes, from portraits and still lifes to sports and photojournalism. Photographic techniques are explained and the various approaches to photography around the world are examined.

Consult the 'Biographies' section which starts on page 202.
The Book of Photography by Anne H. Hoy
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Publication Date: 2005-11-01
The entries on individual photographers are woven into thematic chapters. This allows you to contextualize the photographers work into the history of photography.