Research Guides: ANTH 281: Environmental Anthropology (HC): Finding Books

Literature Reviews and Bibliographies

Oxford Bibliographies in Anthropology
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Offers peer-reviewed annotated bibliographies on anthropology.

OBO Anthropology includes an entry on Environmental Anthropology.

Oxford Bibliographies in Ecology
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
These are extensive, annotated bibliographies of the most important concepts and ideas in Ecology. Each entry is organized into sections containing six to eight references which are then briefly described. Fast-track your research using this continually updated list of bibliographies compiled by leading scholars on all aspects of ecology.
Oxford Bibliographies in Environmental Science
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Offers peer-reviewed annotated bibliographies on the study of environmental science. Bibliographies are browsable by subject area and keyword searchable.
Annual Review of Anthropology
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Annual Reviews are essays in which experts bring together a wealth of scholarly literature about a particular topic or concept important to the field. For example, Environmental Anthropology: Systemic Perspectives might be helpful to look at for this class.

Identifying Relevant Books

The following suggested subject searches are only a sampling of possibilities. To find materials on a topic not listed below, try doing a keyword search in the Tripod Library Catalog to find relevant titles and then using the subject headings assigned to those items to find more.

environmental* AND activis* [Keyword search]

utopia* AND (ecolog* OR environment*) [Keyword search]

"Utopias" [Subject Search]

Beyond the Tri-College Collections

WorldCat is an important place to look for many materials not owned by the Tri-College Libraries. This combined library catalog contains more than 300 million records describing items owned by libraries around the world. Many of these items are available to you though interlibrary loan

WorldCat
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
A catalog of the holdings of books, journals, and other materials held by OCLC (Online Computer Library Center) member libraries. Includes manuscripts, maps, films and sound recordings. Covers works published before 1,000 BC-present.

Borrowing Beyond the Tri-Co
Request items that are not available in Tripod through E-ZBorrow or Interlibrary Loan. Note that E-Z Borrow is the first place to look for books not in Tripod. It usually takes just three days for E-Z Borrow books to arrive. Books not in E-Z Borrow can come from Interlibrary Loan (ILL) which may take as little as four or five days to arrive.

For journal articles not available in the three colleges, use the Article Delivery form. In around 3 days you will receive a digital copy of the requested articles in your email.