Research Guides: EDUC 200: Critical Issues in Education (HC): Finding Journal Articles

Finding Journal Articles

Start your article search with ERIC or ProQuest Education, both of which focus specifically on research in education. See the Search Tips tab for recommended search terms and instructions for using Boolean logic.

Educational Resources Information Center (ERIC)
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Comprehensive database of education research, including journal articles, books, reports, and other sources.
Also freely available through www.eric.ed.gov.
ProQuest Education Database
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
ProQuest Education Journals indexes over 900 journals and gives full text access to 600 of them. It covers not only the literature on primary, secondary, and higher education but also special education, home schooling, adult education, and hundreds of related topics.
ProQuest Research Library
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Provides citations and full-text magazine and journal articles in a wide variety of disciplines, both scholarly and popular in scope. Covers 1971-present.

Using Literature Reviews

A literature review can give you a headstart on figuring out which books and journal articles are the most relevant and of the highest quality. In a literature review the author writes a comprehensive overview of a topic and cites foundational and current relevant research.

Educational Resources Information Center (ERIC)
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Here's how to find literature reviews in ERIC: Choose Publication Type in the first drop down menu and enter Information Analyses as the identifier for literature reviews.
Also freely available through www.eric.ed.gov.

Reviews of Educational Research
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
This journal publishes only literature reviews on education topics. Full text articles are available in JSTOR, ProQuest Education Journals, and ProQuest Research Library.