Research Guides: EDUC 200: Critical Issues in Education (HC): Data and Organizations

Data and Statistics (National)

National Center for Education Statistics (NCES) This link opens in a new window
Provides an enormous list of statistical publications relating to education; includes datasets and published reports. Covers all areas of education including early childhood, secondary and postsecondary education. Coverage varies.

School Attendance Boundary Information System (SABINS)
SABINS provides, free of charge, aggregate census data and GIS-compatible boundary files for school attendance areas, or school catchment areas, for selected areas in the United States for the 2009-2010 school year.

Statistical Abstract of the United States
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
The ProQuest Statistical Abstract of the United States is the authoritative and comprehensive summary of statistics on the social, political, and economic conditions of the United States. (2013-Present)

Statistical Abstract of the U.S. Series (1878-2012)
Archived editions of the Statistical Abstract of the U.S. up to 2012 are available via the website of the U.S. Census Bureau.

Statista: The Leading Statistics Portal
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Provides access to selected statistics and studies of over 600 industries gathered by market researchers, trade organizations, scientific publications, and government sources from 2007 to the present.

United Nations Millennium Development Goals
UIS Data Center
UNESCO Institute of Statistics data portal, allows your to browse education statistics and create custom datasets.
UNData
Includes a section for data by individual countries.
World Bank EdStats
World Bank Data on Education, click through to "All indicators" to get to the query tool.
U.S. Department of Education Public Data
The Ed Department's searchable, filterable public data listing.

Philadelphia Schools and Neighborhoods
A resource guide done by Patty Lynn at the University of Pennsylvania
Philadelphia School Partnership
Philadelphia School Partnership is a philanthropic organization focused on Philadelphia area schools.
Philadelphia School District: Open Data Initiative
The School District of Philadelphia (SDP), in partnership with Open Data Philly, publishes longitudinal data sets spanning various operational school and student performance areas. The public release of this data supports our goals to promote greater transparency and community engagement.