Research Guides: SPAN 360: Teaching and Learning Spanish (HC) Spring 2015: Finding Books

Finding Books

Tripod: Books & More
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
The library catalog of Bryn Mawr, Haverford and Swarthmore Colleges. Use Tripod Books and More to find relevant books, journals, dissertations, films, and other material owned by the tri-college libraries. Click on the "request" button at the bottom of an item's record to have it delivered to Magill or another library.

Use TRIPOD to find books and other material owned by the Tri-College libraries.

Use WorldCat to find books not held by the Tri-College libraries.

In order to find books in either catalog, conduct either a relevant:

Keyword Search:

E.g., SLA curriculum [Tripod]

"language teaching" [Tripod]

(español OR spanish) AND (education OR educación OR teach* OR enseña*) [Tripod]

(See the Search Tips tab for more information on how to construct keyword searches.)

Or Subject Search:

E.g.,

Spanish language Study and teaching [Tripod]

Spanish language Study and teaching [WorldCat]

Spanish language Study and teaching (add. subheadings) [Tripod]

Education Bilingual [Tripod]

Sociolinguistics [Tripod]

Community and school [Tripod]

(Use the Browse Books & More link or the Advanced Search function [limited to the subject field] to find additional subject headings.)

WorldCat
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
A catalog of the holdings of books, journals, and other materials held by OCLC (Online Computer Library Center) member libraries. Includes manuscripts, maps, films and sound recordings. Covers works published before 1,000 BC-present.

Borrowing Beyond the Tri-Co
Request items that are not available in Tripod through E-ZBorrow or Interlibrary Loan. Note that E-Z Borrow is the first place to look for books not in Tripod. It usually takes just three days for E-Z Borrow books to arrive. Books not in E-Z Borrow can come from Interlibrary Loan (ILL) which may take as little as four or five days to arrive.

For journal articles not available in the three colleges, use the Article Delivery form. In around 3 days you will receive a digital copy of the requested articles in your email.

Search Tripod

Selected Books

The Handbook of Spanish Second Language Acquisition
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
ISBN: 9780470674437
Publication Date: 2013-12-04
Covers a broad range of issues including current theoretical approaches, alongside a variety of entries within such areas as the sound system, morphosyntax, individual and social factors, and instructed language learning. Presents a variety of methodological approaches spanning the active areas of research in language acquisition
Vademécum para la formación de profesores: enseñar español como segunda lengua (L2)/ lengua extranjera (LE)
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
ISBN: 8497780515
"Este “Vademécum para la formación de profesores” reúne los principios de orden teórico y práctico sobre los que se asienta la enseñanza-aprendizaje del español como segunda lengua y lengua extranjera." [publisher's description]
The Art of Teaching Spanish: second language acquisition from research to praxis
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
ISBN: 9781589011335
Publication Date: 2006-12-08
This volume addresses how theoretical frameworks affect the application of research findings to the teaching of Spanish, how logistical factors affect the way research findings can be applied to teach Spanish, and how findings from Spanish SLA research would be applicable to Spanish second language teaching and represented in Spanish curricula through objectives and goals (as evidenced in pedagogical materials such as textbooks and computer-assisted language learning software).
The Routledge Handbook of Hispanic Applied Linguistics
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
ISBN: 9780415813785
Publication Date: 2014-09-12
The book is organized into five parts: 1) perspectives on learning Spanish 2) issues and environments in Spanish teaching 3) Spanish in the professions 4) the discourses of Spanish and 5) social and political contexts for Spanish.

Dissertations

Doctoral students go through an exhaustive literature search when writing their dissertations. They also tend to work on new questions, sometimes ones that have received very little attention from scholars before. You can sometimes obtain these dissertations and benefit from all the bibliographic treasues and new ideas. Check ProQuest Dissertations & Theses to identify dissertations on your topic.

Dissertations & Theses
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
ProQuest Dissertations and Theses is a collection of scholarly research in the Humanities and Social Sciences that consists of 2.7 million searchable citations to dissertations and theses from around the world, and 1.2 million full-text dissertations that are available for download in PDF format. Coverage is from 1861 to the present day.