Research Guides: ARTS 218: Chinese Calligraphy as an Art Form (HC): Journal Articles

Indexes covering the Arts

ARTbibliographies Modern
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Provides abstracts of journal articles, books, essays, exhibition catalogs, dissertations, and exhibition reviews on all areas of modern and contemporary art including photography, sculpture and art history and theory. Covers materials published from the late 1960's-present.
Art Full Text
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Offers abstracts of journals, museum bulletins and yearbooks in the fields of art, architecture, decorative arts and photography. Covers abstracts from 1929-present, full-text articles 1997-present.
International Bibliography of Art
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Provides coverage of scholarship on art from late antiquity to the present from 500 core journals, plus essay collections, conference proceedings and exhibition catalogues. The IBA began publication in 2008.

Book Reviews

While almost all of the general and specialized databases have book reviews (and should be searched) Book Review Index is the only database that just indexes book reviews.

Book Review Index
- This link opens in a new window
A comprehensive online guide to book reviews with over five million review citations from thousands of publications. Covers 1965-present.

Other Useful Databases

These databases can provide additional information about Chinese calligraphy and its contexts.

Bibliography of Asian Studies
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Provides citations to a wide range of journal articles, book chapters, conference papers on all subjects relating to East, Southeast, and South Asia.
ProQuest Research Library
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Citations & full-text articles in a variety of disciplines. Covers magazines for general audiences as well as scholarly journals.
JSTOR
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Articles from the top journals in most disciplines. Note that often the most recent 3 to 5 years of issues are not included.
Historical Abstracts
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Provides abstracts of journal articles, books, book reviews and dissertations that cover world history from 1450 to the present (excluding the U.S. and Canada which are covered in "America: History and Life"). Includes publications from 1953-present.

Qing Dynasty Drawing and Calligraphy

Zha Shibiao, Mountains at Dawn, circa 1687, Walters Art Museum (Wikimedia Commons)

Inscription: Rising in the morning to watch the mountain view, Water body is half hidden (by mist), The secluded man has not mundane affair (to care), The fishing boat is (his) floating home, Mei-ho Lao-jen (Old Man of Plum Valley); [Seal] Ch'a Shih-piao; [Signature] Shih-piao