Research Guides: HIST 307: Gender, Race, and Class in the Americas (HC): Journal Articles

Finding Journal Articles

Journal articles and other periodical publications will provide scholarly information for you on specific aspects of history in the Americas. Articles are peer-reviewed prior to publication, so that authors can improve their arguments. Also since articles are generally published on a shorter schedule than books, they can be more-up-to-date. The following indexes are the best ways for you to identify journal articles related to your research.

Use the buttons in the indexes to locate articles available in the three colleges. For those not owned locally, take the ILL (interlibrary loan article delivery) option. You can also go to the Request Form directly.

Major Indexes for History and Area Studies

America: History & Life
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Indexes journal articles and book reviews covering the history and culture of the United States and Canada, from prehistory to the present. Covers international scholarship in more than 40 languages.

Historical Abstracts
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Provides abstracts of journal articles, books, book reviews and dissertations that cover world history from 1450 to the present (excluding the U.S. and Canada which are covered in "America: History and Life"). Includes publications from 1953-present.
Swarthmore has access to the full text.

Handbook of Latin American studies
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window

HAPI: Hispanic American Periodicals Index
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Covers journal articles published in Latin America, Mexico, Central America and the Caribbean, as well as materials concerning the region and U.S. Hispanic topics. Some citations link to full-text articles.

Indexes for Other Subject Areas
Art Full Text
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Offers abstracts of journals, museum bulletins and yearbooks in the fields of art, architecture, decorative arts and photography. Covers abstracts from 1929-present, full-text articles 1997-present.
International Bibliography of Art
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Provides coverage of scholarship on European art from late antiquity to the present and art from the Americas from the colonial era to the present. Note that this database began in 2008. For coverage of earlier years see the Bibliography of the History of Art.
ATLA Religion Database + ATLA Serials (American Theological Library Association)
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Provides online access to the entire core collection of more than fifty significant scholarly journals in the field of religion. Also provides citation information for journal articles, book reviews and essays for over 600 journals in the fields of religion and theology. Covers 1949-present.
MLA International Bibliography
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Database of scholarly books and articles related to literature, language, linguistics, film, theater and folklore. Includes scholarship from 1926 to the present.

Sociological Abstracts
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Provides abstracts of journal articles, books, book chapters, dissertations and conference papers in the fields of sociology and related disciplines. Particularly good for topics involving social class, protest, and relations between groups.

Women's Studies International
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Provides citations and abstracts of journal articles, books, and dissertations in the core areas of women's studies. Covers materials published 1972-present.