Relief Work materials in Haverford College Special Collections (HC)

Includes two diaries kept by James Babbitt from 1917 to 1919 which describe the work of emergency relief in France beginning with the departure of Dr. Babbitt and 54 men from Haverford College in August 1917 and through the establishment and operation of a hospital in France; weekly hospital reports from August 1918; and photographs.

This collection includes photographs from WWI Europe. Photographs include those taken on the ship to Europe, at a hospital in France, and at a number of battlefields throughout Europe. This volume includes graphic images of war casualties.

Waring provided food and aid under the direction of Friends' War Victims Relief Committee in France in 1918. In 1919, she worked for the American Friends Service Committee in Austria and Germany, while in the 1920s she did relief work in Poland and Russia.

The collection includes primarily letters of Joseph Haines to his father, William H. Haines, dated 1917-1921, reporting on conditions in France during World War I and giving detailed accounts of a day's activities for Haines working for the Reconstruction Unit of the American Friends Service Committee. There is also a single folder of newspaper clippings related to World War I.

Correspondence from Potts to his wife, Ethel while he was traveling with the American Friends Service Committee during 1920. Also included are three
photographs of the German unit of the American Friends Service Committee.

Katharine and Howard Elkinton served as relief workers with the AFSC in France from 1917-1919. This collection includes their correspondence.

Correspondence of Edith and Francis Bacon during their time in Germany (1920-1922) while Francis ran the AFSC child-feeding program.

Letter addressed to Thomas Rhoads. It asks if he would like to attend a lecture by Edward Rice (Haverford class of 1914), who had been working for 6 months with the Friends Ambulance Unit composed mainly of members of Fellowship of Reconciliation.

Reports cover 1915 to 1942 and were published annually.

Published in Paris; includes both names and addresses.

Held at Llandudno; September 25th-30th, 1914

Conducted by English Friends, 1916

Gilbert MacMaster (1869-1967), a Quaker, went to Germany in 1919 under the aegis of the American Friends Service Committee to work in child feeding. In 1925, he arranged the first peace conference between Poland and Germany, again under the auspices of the A.F.S.C. During the 1930s, MacMaster was active on behalf of Germans in prison and Jews in concentration camps. In 1946, he organized sending food parcels to Germany for Quakers and others.

Card files on World War I conscientious objectors (of all faiths) and on workers and applicants to the Reconstruction Unit program overseen by the Society of Friends in Europe after World War I.

This collection is comprised of the single volume "A Year in French Prison Camp," a manuscript of a German lecture given by Walter Horold.

The Haverford College Emergency Unit was formed after the U.S. entered World War I in the spring of 1917. It was primarily focused on training students and faculty for the possibility of overseas deployment. The Unit was supervised under Dr. James Babbitt and included physical conditioning, auto mechanics, manual training, camping, first aid and hiking.

This collection contains documents relating to the Haverford College Emergency Unit, formed after the outbreak of World War I. These documents include forms, meeting minutes, and bulletins from the Emergency Unit.

Pamphlets, newspapers clippings (PG 3)

Oct. 1914- April 1915.
Contains names of committees, members of the Unit, nursing and housekeeping staff, contributors, as well as the Treasurer's report and history

Includes illustrations and maps.

First Anglo-Belgian ambulance unit, New York: 1914

Includes both illustrations and personal narratives of volunteers.

Oct. 1914- Feb. 1915.
"Private and confidential; not to be published in any form" according to the pamphlet

Wood's papers include fundraising appeals and letters from those wishing to serve.