Research Guides: EDUC 275: Emergent Multilingual Learners in U.S. Schools (HC): Finding Journal Articles

Finding Journal Articles

For search strategies and recommended subject headings for locating articles, see the Search Tips tab.

Educational Resources Information Center (ERIC)
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Comprehensive database of education research, including journal articles, books, reports, and other sources.
Also freely available through www.eric.ed.gov.
LLBA: Linguistics & Language Behavior Abstracts
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Contains abstracts of the world's literature in linguistics and language-related research, including journal articles, books, book reviews, dissertations and some conference proceedings. Covers all aspects of language including phonetics, phonology, morphology,syntax and semantics. Includes historical, comparative, theoretical and social linguistics and related disciplines such as anthropology, education, and ethnology. Covers 1973-present.

PAIS International
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Indexes journal articles, books, government documents, and private organizations reports. Areas covered include political, economic, social and public policy issues. Covers 1915-present. Valuable for identifying material that emphasizes aspects relating to policy.

ProQuest Education Database
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
ProQuest Education Journals indexes over 900 journals and gives full text access to 600 of them. It covers not only the literature on primary, secondary, and higher education but also special education, home schooling, adult education, and hundreds of related topics.
Sociological Abstracts
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Find journal articles, books, book chapters, dissertations and conference papers in the fields of sociology, social work and related disciplines as far back as 1963. Includes Social Services Abstracts journals.

Using FindIt to access articles

When you find a title of interest, if the full text is not immediately available (as in JSTOR and Proquest), use the Find It button to check for Haverford's holdings.

For journal articles not available in the three colleges, use the Article Delivery form. In around 3 days you will receive a digital copy of the requested articles in your email.