Journal Articles - HIST 118: History of Science - Resources on Ancient and Medieval Medicine (HC)

Indexes

History of science, technology, and medicine
- This link opens in a new window

Journal articles and other periodical publications provide scholarly information on specific aspects of history and the history of science. Since articles are generally published on a shorter schedule than books, they can be more-up-to-date. The following indexes are the best ways for you to identify journal articles:

Historical Abstracts
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Provides abstracts of journal articles, books, book reviews and dissertations that cover world history from 1450 to the present (excluding the U.S. and Canada which are covered in "America: History and Life"). Includes publications from 1953-present.
Swarthmore has access to the full text.
Année Philologique
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Annèe Philologique is useful for researchers in the classics, philosophy, history, art, archaeology, and the humanities. It contains publication information for articles for the years 1924 to the present.
International Medieval Bibliography Online
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Provides abstracts and citations to articles on medieval subjects in journals, Festschriften, conference proceedings, and collected essays. Covers all aspects of medieval studies within the period 450 to 1500 for Europe, the Middle East and North Africa.

Literature Reviews

Literature reviews are a particularly useful resource when doing research. They address the issues involved in a particular question and the debates among scholars. They map out the intellectual terrain succinctly and give you the major landmarks in terms of key authors and significant titles for greater understanding.

Handbook of medieval studies: terms, methods, trends
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
A three-volume collection of essays covering major topics, important terms, textual genres, and key scholars with sources for more reading in each entry. Note in particular "Historiography of Medieval Medicine" and "Miracle Narratives."
History Compass
- This link opens in a new window
This journal publishes literature reviews exclusively. It also covers medieval history topics frequently including:
Should We Teach That the Cause of the Black Death Was Bubonic Plague? - Phyllis Bobst (2013)
Integrative Medicine: Incorporating Medicine and Health into the Canon of Medieval European History - Monica H. Green (2009)
New Directions in the Study of Religious Responses to the Black Death - Justin Stearns (2009)
Oxford Bibliographies Online. Renaissance and Reformation
- This link opens in a new window
Extensive annotated bibliographies on specific topics in Renaissance history written by scholars in the field. This volume is under development. Essays of interest now available include:
Black Death and Plague: The Disease and Medical Thought - Samuel Kohn
Plague and its Consequences - Samuel Kohn

Dissertations & Theses
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Doctoral students go through an exhaustive literature search when writing their dissertations. They also tend to work on new questions, sometimes ones that have received very little attention from scholars before. You can often obtain these dissertations and benefit from their literature reviews.
Check ProQuest Dissertations & Theses to identify dissertations on your topic. ProQuest provides over a million Humanities and Social Sciences theses full text along with descriptions for twice as many more.

Specific Subjects

There are also indexes devoted to literary history, philosophy and art history that may be of use for specific topics:

Bibliography of the History of Art (BHA and RILA) This link opens in a new window
Bibliography of the History of Art (BHA) and Répertoire international de la littérature de l'art (RILA). Abstracts of journal articles, books, conference proceedings, dissertations and exhibition and dealers' catalogs. Includes European and American art from late antiquity to the present. Covers material published between 1975-2007. Use International Bibliography of Art for coverage of publications after 2007.

Feminae
In addition to indexing journal articles, book reviews, essays and images concerning women, sexuality and gender in Europe, North Africa and the Middle East, from 450 C.E. to 1500 C.E., the database also indexes primary sources, both complete texts and excerpts from anthologies.

Go to the Advanced Search Page, and enter Translation in the Article Type box.
In the Keyword box enter your topic or you can specify a name in the Author box. You can also specify century and geographic area (British Isles, etc.) in those search boxes.

MLA International Bibliography
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Database of scholarly books and articles related to literature, language, linguistics, film, theater and folklore. Includes scholarship from 1926 to the present.
Philosopher's Index
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Provides citations and abstracts of journal articles, books, anthology contributions and book reviews published worldwide. Topics covered include: ethics, aesthetics, social philosophy, political philosophy, epistemology, philosophy of law, religion, science, history, education, and language. Covers 1940-present. Contains over 328,000 records as of August 2005. Monitors over 550 journals from more than 40 countries.

Recent Journals for Browsing

Watch for these authoritative journal titles when you are searching indexes and scanning footnotes. You can also browse the latest issues online or in paper because it takes some time for indexes to add newly published articles:

Early science and medicine
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Isis
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Journal of the history of medicine and allied sciences
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window

HIST 118: History of Science - Resources on Ancient and Medieval Medicine (HC): Journal Articles

Indexes

Literature Reviews

Specific Subjects

Recent Journals for Browsing