Research Guides: POLS 212: Health Politics (HC): Data Resources

Data Resources

Gapminder
Global development presented graphically with your choice of countries, time period, and indicators.
Global Health Observatory Data
HealthMap
This website provides online informal sources for disease outbreak monitoring and real-time surveillance of emerging public health threats. Through an automated process, updating 24/7/365, the system monitors, organizes, integrates, filters, visualizes and disseminates online information about emerging diseases in nine languages, facilitating early detection of global public health threats.
International Country Risk Guide
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
The ICRG (International Country Risk Guide) Researcher's Dataset from the PRS Group comprises 22 variables in three subcategories of risk (political, financial, and economic), for 146 countries, over the period 1984 to the previous year. Data are annual averages of components published in the International Country Risk Guide.
OffStats
"The OFFSTATS database provides access to free statistics from official sources on the web. Some specialised databases are only available to the University of Auckland staff and students. Web links are arranged by country, region or subject." -- website.
UNData
Includes a section for data by individual countries.

World Development Indicators (WDI) Online This link opens in a new window
World Development Indicators (WDI) is the primary World Bank collection of development indicators, compiled from officially recognized international sources. It includes more than 1100 indicators on population, income, social, economic, financial, natural resources, and environment, covering 210 countries and 18 regional and income groups. Also includes the International Debt Statistics (IDS) database. Data ranges from 1960-present.

Worldwide Governance Indicators
Governance indicators for 213 countries cover six areas: Voice and accountability, Political Stability and Absence of Violence, Government effectiveness, Regulatory quality, Rule of law, and Control of corruption.

A woman registering at a medical lab (Wikimedia Commons)