Research Guides: POLS 320: Democracy in America (HC): Reports and Policy Papers / Government Documents

Reports and Papers from Think Tanks and Researchers

SSRN (Social Science Research Network)
This organization makes conference papers searchable and provides full text access to many of them. SSRN collects conference papers, journal article pre-prints and working papers in the social sciences. This is a good place to find very recent material. Use the Advanced Search option.
Global Go to Think Tanks, 2020
The report organizes ranking by the world and by region in addition to rankings by area of research. From the University of Pennsylvania.
Mathematica Policy Research
A research firm focused on public well being in the areas of education, justice, health, and other human services. Many of its reports are available for you to use on the company's web site. Other companies providing research services to the United States government also make many of their reports available to the public. See Westat, MDRC, and RTI International as examples.
Transparify.org
Provides global ratings of the financial transparency of major think tanks.

PolicyFile
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Users can access timely, updated information from over 350 U.S. public policy think tanks, nongovernmental organizations, research institutes, university centers, advocacy groups, and other entities. Coverage is from 1990 to the present. Can provide better results than searching Google.
Think Tank Search
Search of think tank websites sponsored by the Harvard Kennedy School. Includes a mix of non-partisan and partisan due to organizations' impact and reputation.
Find Policy
Provides targeted searches to top think tanks according to differing topics. Open the More Search tab for additional options.
Google Search for Policy Briefs
Enter your topic, the phrase policy brief (in quotations) and the domain search for nonprofits (site:.org)
Example: "migrant workers" women "policy brief" site:.org

LexisNexis State Capital
- This link opens in a new window
Tracks state bills, finds state statutes and regulations, and search state legislative reports and other policy-concerned media.

State Cases in Nexis Uni
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
On Nexis Uni 's search page, click on Cases. Next, select State Cases and enter the state(s) you wish to search for. Then enter your keywords to search.

Congressional Research Service Reports
The Congressional Research Service prepares policy reports for Congress on all issues under consideration for legislation. These reports are not all released to the public. Individual legislators may post pertinent reports online. The link above allows you to search a site where many CRS report collections can be accessed full text.
GovInfo
The Government Publishing Office's information system provides public access to Government information submitted by Congress and Federal agencies.
Government Accountability Office Reports
This link allows you to search GAO reports, testimonies, and the full web site. As an investigative arm for Congress, GAO monitors compliance and accountability within government agencies, industry and business, and the public sector.

HeinOnline
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Provides searchable database of government documents including U.S. Congressional Documents, U.S. Federal Legislative History Library, U.S. Presidential Library, U.S. Statutes at Large, U.S. Supreme Court Library, and many others. Time coverage for each collection is from the beginning to the most current allowed under contract. Navigate to Help --> Knowledge Base to find helpful how-to articles and short training videos.
ProQuest Congressional
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Provides daily updated information on the U.S. legislature, including full text of bills starting in 1989, public laws starting in 1988, committee reports starting in 1990, House and Senate documents starting in 1995, Congressional Record starting in 1985, Federal Register starting in 1980, National Journal starting in 1977 and other government information.