For many Westerners, the name Vietnam evokes images of a bloody televised American war that generated a firestorm of protest and brought conflict into their living rooms. In his sweeping account, Ben Kiernan broadens this vision by narrating the rich history of the peoples who have inhabited the land now known as Viet Nam over the past three thousand years.
Routledge Handbook of the Environment in Southeast Asia (2017)
The environment is one of the defining issues of our times, and it is closely linked to questions and dilemmas surrounding economic development. Southeast Asia is one of the world's most economically and demographically dynamic regions, and it is also one in which a host of environmental issues raise themselves. The Routledge Handbook of the Environment in Southeast Asia is a collection of 30 chapters dealing with the most significant scholarly debates in this rapidly growing field of study.
Vietnam today offers a fascinating mosaic of peoples, languages, and cultures--a small nation that is home to over fifty ethnic groups speaking more than a half-dozen different tongues. The country's extraordinary diversity is the legacy of centuries of imperial collisions and ever-shifting political configurations. In Vietnam, Christopher Goscha tells the full history of Vietnam, from antiquity to the present day.
The Routledge Handbook of Religions in Asia provides a contemporary and comprehensive overview of religion in contemporary Asia. There is a chapter devoted to Vietnam, plus chapters on broader SE Asian religious trends.
Routledge Handbook of Southeast Asian Economics (2015)
The Routledge Handbook of Southeast Asian Economics offers new insights into the rapidly-developing economies of Southeast Asia. Organized according to the logic of chronological and thematic unity, it is structured in these sections: Growth and development over the long term Food, agriculture and natural resources Trade, investment and industrialization Population, labor, and human capital Poverty and political economy Twenty-first century challenges This original Handbook, written by experts in their fields, is unique in the breadth and depth of its coverage. Its forward-looking perspective renders it relevant both now and in the future.
Routledge Handbook of Southeast Asian History (2014)
The Routledge Handbook of Southeast Asian History looks at the major themes that have developed in the study of modern Southeast Asian history since the mid-18th century. Contributions by experts in the field are clustered under three major headings - Political History, Economic History, and Social and Cultural History - and chapters challenge the boundaries between topics and regions. Alongside the rise and fall of colonialism, topics include conflict in Southeast Asia, tropical ecology, capitalism and its discontents, the major religions of the region, gender, and ethnicity.
Routledge Handbook of Southeast Asian Politics (2012)
The Routledge Handbook of Southeast Asian Politics provides a comprehensive analysis of the major themes, conflicts and ideas that have defined and shaped the politics of Southeast Asia in the modern period. See the chapter on Vietnam.
From the Introduction to Asian Civilizations series. Sources of Vietnamese Tradition covers two thousand years of Vietnamese history and gives a comprehensive overview of the society and state of Vietnam. Strategic selections illuminate key figures, issues, and events while building a thematic portrait of the country's developing territory, politics, culture, and relations with neighbors.