Research Guides: ANTH 244: Global Perspectives on Early Farmers (BMC): Scholarly Sources

Special Issue of Current Anthropology

Current Anthropology special issue: The Origins of Agriculture, New Data, New Ideas (2011)

Archaeology

Several multidisciplinary and anthropology-specific databases will have peer-reviewed sources in archaeology. Search for synonyms and use search truncation (e.g. archaeolog* OR prehistor* OR neolithic, agricultur* OR farm* OR domesticat* OR cultiva*, etc.) for the best search results.

Anthropology Plus
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Use this database to find scholarly journal articles in Anthropology.
AnthroSource
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Use this database to find scholarly journal articles in Anthropology. Articles are from peer-reviewed journals published by the American Anthropological Association.
Abstracts in Anthropology
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Online version of a quarterly publiction, which includes references to journal articles, miscellaneous papers, and books, arranged under sections on archaeology, ethnology, linguistics, and physical anthropology. Also contains cross references and a cross index.
JSTOR
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Provides full-text and page images from many of the top journals in most academic disciplines. Coverage is from the inception of the journal through three to five years ago.
Periodicals Index Online
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Index to journal articles in the arts, humanities, and social sciences, including some published as far back as 1770. Includes periodicals in English, German, Italian, French, Spanish, and other Western languages.

Modern Farmers

The Anthropology databases listed above will also have articles on modern farmers. Plus, try these additional social science and environmental studies sources:

BioOne
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Provides full-text access to research journal articles in such fields as the biological, ecological, and environmental sciences. Covers 2000-present.
GreenFILE
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
An interdisciplinary database covering all aspects of human impact on the environment. Excellent resource for finding information on global climate change, green building, pollution, sustainable agriculture, renewable energy, recycling, and more.
Gale in Context: Environmental Studies
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Online resource that focuses on the academic study of sustainability and the environment. Offers authoritative content on the development of emerging green technologies and environmental and sustainability issues in such categories as energy systems, healthcare, agriculture, transportation, economics, and ecology. Allows users to navigate by issue, organization, and country portals. Includes news, video, primary source documents, interactive maps, contextual multimedia, customizable journals, and news and refereed case studies.
ProQuest Research Library
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Provides citations and full-text magazine and journal articles in a wide variety of disciplines, both scholarly and popular in scope. Covers 1971-present.
ProQuest Social Science Database
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
This database, formerly known as "ProQuest Social Science Journals" provides citations and abstracts to articles from about 450 social sciences periodicals. Full-text/images are available for over 200 of the periodicals indexed. Coverage from 1994 to present.