Research Guides: ANTH 244: Global Perspectives on Early Farmers (BMC): Region-specific Guides

Books in Tripod

Tripod
We have many region-specific books in Tripod about archaeology of agriculture and about modern farming. Search by keyword, or look through reference book series like Cambridge World Archaeology and Oxford Handbooks.

Africa-Wide
Offers access to multi-disciplinary information on Africa including books, journal articles, maps and music recordings. Some materials are in full-text. Covers 19th century-present.
Oxford Bibliographies in African Studies
Offers authoritative research guides that combine the best features of an annotated bibliography and a high-level encyclopedia. There are several entries that discuss early African agriculture and point to additional sources.

The Oxford Handbook of African Archaeology
Has chapters on migration, early domestication and farming, social complexity, etc.

Handbook of Latin American Studies (HLAS)
Handbook of Latin American Studies from the Library of Congress -- an extensive multidisciplinary bibliography focused on Latin America. Check the Subject index for the controlled terms for archaeological and agricultural topics
Oxford Bibliographies in Latin American Studies
Offers authoritative research guides that combine the best features of an annotated bibliography and a high-level encyclopedia. There are several entries that discuss early African agriculture and point to additional sources.

The Oxford Handbook of Mesoamerican Archaeology
Has several chapters on early farming and social complexity.
The Oxford Handbook of North American Archaeology
Has several chapters on early cultivation, social organization, etc.
The Subsistence Economies of Indigenous North American Societies:A Handbook
Lots of chapters on early foodways and archaeological evidence of early agricultural economies.

The Archaeology of China: From the late paleolithic to the early bronze age
The Archaeology of Japan: From the earliest rice farming villages to the rise of the state

Asia-Studies Full-Text
Contains over 8,000 full-text reports on finance, trade, environment, human resources development, best practices in government, fisheries, tourism, education, women's studies, etc. for 53 countries. Updated weekly. There are some studies here on Asian neolithic topics, and a lot of studies on modern food/farming issues.
Bibliography of Asian Studies
Provides citations to journal articles, book chapters, conference proceedings, anthologies, and Festshriften on all subjects pertaining to East, Southeast, and South Asia. Covers 1971-present. Look at the BAS controlled subject vocabulary to find the right terms for your topic.
China Academic Journals
Searchable full-text database of Chinese journals.
Bryn Mawr subscribes to the Literature/History/Philosophy and Politics/Military Affairs/Law collections, which include some journals on archaeology and on modern agriculture.

Blackwell Companion to the Ancient Near East
This reference book in Carpenter contains many chapters on domestication of various species. It addresses Anatolia and the Levant in addition to Mesopotamia.
The Oxford Handbook of Ancient Iran
Very Short Introductions: The Ancient Near East
Our Very Short Introductions subscriptions includes an introduction/bibliography to the Ancient Near East. The first section gives the broad outline on the regions environmental context.