Skip to main content

SPAN 397: The Fictions of Roberto Bolano (HC) [Fall 2014]

Spanish 397a: The Fictions of Roberto Bolano and the Renewal of the Latin American Novel (Castillo Sandoval) Fall 2014

Finding Scholarly Articles

Before conducting your search:

  • Consider how your argument might be broken down into keywords or phrases.

  • Compile a list of synonyms for those keywords.  What other terms might scholars use to talk about your topic, and how do these terms reflect the type of argument scholars are making?  (E.g., memory vs. nostalgia)

  • Consider which intersections among your keywords will be useful for searching

  • Indentify disciplines that are relevant to your research question.  Also consider the ways in which your question might reside outside traditional discplines or cut across them.

See the Search Tips tab for additional information about searching Tripod Articles and other databases.

Tracing Cited References

Researchers can often find useful scholarship by identifying one particularly relevant book or article and seeing which sources that text cites.  With print texts, this process might involve checking the bibliography.  In some databases, you can also trace citations forward in time and find subsequent material that cites a particularly useful resource.  Use the following databases to find a relevant resource and then see which later texts cite the one with which you start.  Keep in mind, however, that the citations will no be comprehensive—i.e., the citations will often be limited by the scope of the database in which you're working.

Searching for Articles

Begin your search with the relevant subject-specific or multidisciplinary databases listed below.  To search many journal databases at once, use Tripod Articles.  To identify subject-specific databases not listed below, use Research Guides.

Once you have found relevant resources, use the button to get full-text copies the articles.

A separate window will open with links either to a digital copy of the article, a locally available print copy, or an Article Delivery request form for ordering material not held by the tri-college libraries. To request items not held locally, simply enter your name and barcode and submit the request.