Skip to main content
History of Science and Nature materials in Haverford Special Collections (HC)
Search this Guide
Chemistry and Physics
Biology and Geology
Key of the mathematicks
By William Oughtred, who was a 17th century English mathematician credited with inventing the slide rule. A guide to arithmetic, algebra, geometry, and other areas of math that would be useful in practical applications like surveying and artillery.
A tangled tale: A series of mathematical questions
A collection of humorous mathematical riddles by Lewis Carroll.
A textbook on elementary logic from 1896 by Lewis Carroll.
By Augustus De Morgan, who was a British mathematician famous for his work in logic. This is an 1847 treatise on logic including its applications to probability.
Euclid's elements of geometry
1660 English translation of Euclid’s work on geometry. Includes illustrations.
A treatise on surveying: containing the theory and practice
By John Gummere. 1817 textbook containing an introduction to the mathematics of surveying along with relevant log and trig tables and illustrations of geometric ideas.
A school geometry
By Henry Forder, who was a New Zealand mathematician who studied at Cambridge. This part 2 of a 1930 geometry textbook covering the plane geometry of circles. Includes diagrams.
New short treatise of Algebra
By John Harris, who was an English mathematician and editor of an early English encyclopedia. 1702 treatise on algebra highlighting connections with plane geometry.
First lessons in algebra
By Samuel Alsop. 1851 text on algebra adopted by Philadelphia grammar schools.
Arithmetica absque Algebra aut Euclide demonstrata
By George Berkeley, a philosopher and proponent of the theory of immaterialism, this is a 1707 work on Euclidian geometry.
Albertvs Dvrervs Nvrembergensis pictor hvivs ætatis celeberrimus
By Albrecht Dürer. The artist's book on measurement.
Les mathematiqves et géometrie
By Claude Flamand, a French mathematician who also wrote about surveying and fortification.
"or A collection of many problemes, extracted out of the ancient and modern philosophers." By Jean Leurechon.
Elenchus geometricae Hobbinae
By John Wallis. Part of a long-running disagreement between the mathematician Wallis and philosopher Thomas Hobbes. This is Wallis's critique of Hobbes's
Two notebooks. One contains mainly mathematical lecture notes taken by Samuel James Gummere from 1862 to 1874, while the other contains calculations and proofs.
Rendel Harris lecture notes
By James Rendel Harris, who was a Biblical scholar and teacher at Haverford. 8 volumes of science and math handwritten lecture notes on geometry, algebra, and calculus.
Aug 14, 2018 11:08 AM
Login to LibApps
Report a problem
haverford college special collections