Research Guides: French history and culture in Haverford Special Collections (HC): Global Politics and Travel

Early Exploration

Concorde de la géographie des différents âges
Translation of title: "Concord of the geography of different eras." This book was written by Noël Antoine Pluche and edited by Pierre Thullier, attempting to provide a comprehensive guide to geography. Published in 1764 and containing illustrations and folded maps.
Nouveau voyage autour du monde.
Translation of title: "New voyage around the world." Written by William Dampier in five volumes with illustrations and maps, documenting various travels around the world of buccaneers to areas including Panama and Latin America. This is the fourth edition, published in 1723.
Noanoa: voyage de Tahiti
This work was written by Paul Gauguin and gives his personal accounts of travels to Tahiti, an island in French Polynesia. This edition if only one of 300 and was published in 1926.
Nouveaux mémoires sur l'état present de la Chine
Translation of title: "New reports on the present state of China." This book was written by Louis Le Comte and deals with the Jesuit missionary trips in China. Published in 1698.
Voyage à Cayenne, dans les deux Amériques, et chez les anthropophages...
Translation of title: "Voyage to Cayenne, in the two Americas, and in the land of the cannibals... containing the general picture of the deported, the life and the causes of the author's exile: some particular notions... on religion, trade and the mores of savages, blacks, Creoles, and Quakers."
more...less...
Full title: Voyage à Cayenne, dans les deux Amériques, et chez les anthropophages... contenant le tableau général des déportés, la vie et les causes de l'exil de l'auteur: des notions particulières... sur la religion, le commerce et les mœurs des sauvages, des noirs, des créoles et des quakers
Voyages aux Indes Orientales et a [sic] la Chine: fait par ordre du roi, depuis 1774 jusqu'en 1781...
Translation of title: "Voyage to the Indies and to China: made by the order of the king, from 1774 until 1781. In which one handles the mores, religion, science and the arts of the Indians, the Chinese, the Pegouins and the Madegasses; followed by observations on the Cape of Good Hope..."
more...less...
Full title: Voyage aux Indes Orientales et a [sic] la Chine: fait par ordre du roi, depuis 1774 jusqu'en 1781. Dans lequel on traite des mœurs, de la religion, des sciences & des arts des Indiens, des Chinois, des Pégouins & des Madégasses; suivi d'observations sur le cap de Bonne-Espérance. les isles de France & de Bourbon, les Maldives, Ceylan, Malacca, les Philippines & les Moluques & de recherches sur l'histoire naturelle de ces pays
Voyage dans la haute Pennsylvanie et dans l'état de New-York: par un membre adoptif de la nation Onéida
Translation of title: "Voyage in upper Pennsylvania and in New York State: by an adoptive member of the Oneida nation." This book was written by J. Hector St. John de Crèvecoeur and contains accounts of travels throughout Pennsylvania and New York State as a part of the Oneida Indian tribe. It is comprised of three volumes and contains maps, plans, and tables.
Voyages des pais septentrionaux: dans lequel se voit les mœurs, maniere de vivre, & superstitions des Norweguiens....
Translation of title: "Voyage in the Northern countries: in which can be seen the mores, the lifestyle, and superstitions of Norwegians, Lappons, Kiloppes, Borandiens, Siberians, Samojedes, Zembliens, and Islanders: enriched with several figures."
more...less...
Full title: Voyage des pais septentrionaux: dans lequel se voit les mœurs, maniere de vivre, & superstitions des Norweguiens, Lappons, Kiloppes, Borandiens, Syberiens, Samojedes, Zembliens, & Islandois: enrichi de plusieurs figures.
Journal of a voyage to North-America
Undertaken by order of the French king. Containing the geographical description and natural history of that country, particularly Canada. Together with an account of the customs, characters, religion, manners and traditions of the original inhabitants. In a series of letters to the Duchess of Lesdiguières
By Pierre-François-Xavier de Charlevoix
1761

The American Revolution

Abrége de la Revolution de l'Amerique angloise: depuis le commencement de l'année 1774 jusqu'au premier janvier 1778
Translation of title: "Summary of the American Revolution against the English: from the beginning of the year 1774 until the January 1, 1778." Written by Pierre Ulric Dubuisson in 1779, this work summarizes much of the history of the American Revolution, as well as France's involvement in it.
"French documents"
The earlier of the two documents (1774) discusses the French involvement in the American Revolution, including discussion of revenue, munitioning for troops, flour wars, buttons, and other goods. The later (1794) is an agreement to provide cabins for English troops.
Histoire de la révolution d'Amérique: par rapport à la Caroline Meridionale; par M. David Ramsay
Translation of title: "History of the American Revolution: in relation to South Carolina; by M. David Ramsay... Translated from English. Illustrated with maps and drawings, divided into five volumes; the fifth is about growth and contains observations on the trade of the United States of America. By Jean Lord Sheffield; translated from English by Mirabeau."
more...less...
Full title: Histoire de la révolution d'Amérique: par rapport à la Caroline Meridionale; par M. David Ramsay... Traduite de l'anglais. Ornée de cartes et de plans, divisée en cinq volumes; le cinquième est d'augumentation [sic] & contient des observations sur le commerce des Etats-Unis d'Amerique [sic]. Par Jean Lord Sheffield; traduites de l'anglais par Mirabeau
Marquis de Lafayette
Marie-Joseph Paul Yves Roch Gilbert du Motier de Lafayette was a French military officer and a general during the Revolutionary War. These letters from the 635 collection relate mainly to Lafayette's career as a French military officer.
Marquis de Lafayette
These letters from the 724 collection relate primarily to Marquis de Lafayette's work as a general during the American Revolution.
Mémoires, correspondances et manuscrits
These works, published in 1837, consist of two volumes of accounts written by Marquis de Lafayette regarding the American revolution from his French perspective.
Alexis de Tocqueville
Alexis-Charles-Henri Clérel de Tocqueville was a political philosopher during the 19th century who wrote, "Democracy in America," published following his travels throughout the United States.

Travels in France

Nicholas Waln Family papers
This collection contains various types of materials related to Nicholas Waln and the Waln family, including documents regarding his visit to France in the early 19th century.
Notes on a journey through France: in July, August, September, 1814, describing the habits of the people, and the agriculture of the country
Written by Morris Birkbeck in 1815, this book describes his travels throughout France and an analysis of their culture.
The present state of music in France and Italy: or, The journal of a tour through those countries: undertaken to collect materials for a general history of music
Written by Charles Burney and published in 1773.
A sentimental journey through France and Italy
Written by Laurence Sterne and published in 1768 as a second edition, this book discusses French social customs and appears in two separate volumes.
Travels through France, Italy, Germany and Switzerland: describing their religion, learning, government, customs, natural history, trade, &c.
This book was written by Gilbert Burnet and published in 1750, giving an account of his travels throughout Europe and his commentary on European cultures.
John S. Whitall diary
Diary of a voyage from New York to France in 1785. During his time in France, entries describe Whitall's travels to Nantes and Bordeaux, as well as visits with Friends in France.
A Residence in France, during the years 1792, 1793, 1794, and 1795
"described in a series of letters from an English lady; with general and incidental remarks on the French character and manners "
By John Gifford