Research Guides: ENGL 389: England's Lost Paradise (HC): Image Sources

Using Images

The Ranters Ranting, illustrated title page of a six-page pamphlet

(B. Alsop, 1650)

JSTOR Images (formerly Artstor)
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
ArtStor provides access to thousands of digital images derived from a variety of museum, library and archival collections. Log in with your college email user name and password to search by keyword, artist, and geographic region. Note too that limiting results by date range is a good way to focus results.

British Library
The British Library has extensive holdings of prints, drawings, and illustrated books. Search by keyword, e.g. ranter, to find an illustrated news story.
Also note these images relating to medieval and early modern gardens from the exhibit, The Writer in the Garden.
British Printed Images to 1700
This website presents a database of prints and book illustrations that is searchable by subject, artist, date, and technique. You can search more than one category at a time by choosing the first one, then clicking on "Hold", and selecting additional terms. Book illustrations include this elaborate allegory about King Charles I and religion.
National Portrait Gallery
Includes many images of 17th century political figures:
- King Charles I (You can sort the 332 portraits by Date Ascending to see changes over time from child portraits to popular prints of his execution and commemorations of his martyrdom.)
- Oliver Cromwell 228 portraits
- John Milton 70 portraits
- Stuart Portraits and the Civil War

Encyclopedia of Comparative Iconography
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
This describes and indexes themes in art, some of which are represented in the images in your ArtStor folders (e.g., Abundance, Expulsion, and Shephers/Shepherdesses). Note the index for artists on pages 1011-1050.
How to Read Images
This essay suggests ways to interpret drawings and paintings from the French Revolution.
Oxford Art Online
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Includes a major encyclopedia of art as well as other reference works. The entries are enhanced by numerous illustrations and links to artworks. Good for quick information about artists and their works.