Grace Bacon Lowry was present at the World Council of Churches held in Lucknow in 1952-1953, and she continued doing Quaker work in India until 1957. The collection contains her correspondence.
Douglas Borgstedt (1911-2001) was an editorial cartoonist whose work appeared in numerous newspapers and magazines such as The New Yorker. The collection contains work on issues surrounding Indira Gandhi and nuclear proliferation.
Esther Rhoads was the head of the Friends Girls' School in Tokyo for more than fifty years and worked with the Licensed Agencies for Relief in Asia. In 1963 she traveled to India and the collection includes her travel memorabilia, photographs, and letters from the trip.
This collection is comprised of three volumes of the travel journals of Margaret Jenkins. Two volumes describe Margaret Jenkin's trip to the Himalayan Mountains in 1911-1912 to visit her cousin, who was a missionary there.
Rufus Jones founded the American Friends Service Committee and traveled to Asia at the invitation of the YMCA. This collection contains diary entries on his meeting with Gandhi.
This collection is comprised of two accessions of the letters of Gilbert and Minnie Bowles. The collection
is comprised of both private letters and public letters meant for circulation among Friends, written by
Gilbert Bowles and his wife Minnie Bowles during their religious visits to India and Japan.
This collection includes numerous letters written by Nisbet during his travels through Bombay, Nagpur Central, Delhi, and Lahor, India; Srinagar and Islamabad, Vale of Kashmir, and Calcutta.
This book catalogs missionary efforts in India and discusses Indian society and culture through the lens of how they helped or hindered those efforts. Includes illustrations and colored maps.
This book includes descriptions of the “customs, habits, religion, and languages of the inhabitants, [...] political governments, and way of commerce" of Persia (Iran) and parts of India.
Bayard Taylor was an American poet and travel correspondent. This book contains his observations on the culture and geography of places he visited during a tour of Asia. Of particular interest is that Taylor’s trip to Japan was made with the expedition of Commodore Perry.
