POLS 216: International Criminal Justice (HC): Background Information

This unique research companion takes a critical approach to a wide variety of theoretical, practical, legal and policy issues surrounding and underpinning the operation of international criminal law as applied by international criminal tribunals. The authors raise issues which are likely to provide the most significant challenges and most promising opportunities for the continuing development of this body of law.

he Encyclopedia is an international, interdisciplinary, and collaborative project, spanning all the relevant areas of scholarship related to issues of global justice, and edited and advised by leading scholars from around the world. More than 500 wide-ranging entries present the latest ideas on this complex subject by authors who are at the cutting edge of inquiry.

This 3-volume reference work offers 287 entries written by 166 scholars and practitioners drawn from diverse jurisdictions and includes detailed country studies; entries on transitional justice institutions and organizations; descriptions of transitional justice methods, processes, and practices; examinations of key debates and controversies; and a glossary of relevant terms and concepts.

Provides overview essays about different aspects of human rights including legal, political, and economic topics.

This book highlights the many actions taken worldwide to secure the rights of individuals to peace and protest, as examined from a theoretical standpoint. The book has both a theory base as well as empirical findings from regions and individual countries.

This guide provides an overview of issues with essay-length pieces as well as entries on doctrines, procedures, and trials.

Provides a comprehensive and original overview of one of the fundamental topics within international law. It contains substantial new essays by over forty leading experts in the field, giving students, scholars, and practitioners a complete overview of the issues that inform research and a "map" of the debates that animate the field. Each chapter features critical and up-to-date analysis of the current state of debate and discussion, assessing recent work, and advancing the understanding of all aspects of this developing area of international law.

Covers historical, political, theoretical, and philosophical issues relating to peace and conflict, as well as major figures, events, organizations, and current affairs.

The Wiley-Blackwell Encyclopedia of Globalization contains over 600 entries on the essential topics of globalization including Digitality and Socio-Political Networks, Ethics, Global, and Inequality.

The University of Minnesota maintains this rich collection of resources on human rights.

The ICCLR promotes the rule of law, human rights, and good governance in criminal law and the administration of criminal justice, domestically, regionally and globally. The site provides access to full-text publications.

Columbia University Law School has put together this detailed guide.

An extensive guide from the Harvard Law School Library

This section comes from the United Nations Interregional Crime and Justice Research Institute website.

The guide presents an introduction to the key documentation from the United nations.

This website gathers and indexes journal articles, reports and other material by country and theme.