Research Guides: CSTS/COML 212: Refashioning the Classics: Dramatization and Illustration (HC): Finding Books and Journal Articles

Finding Scholarly Studies in Books

Use the Tripod catalog This link opens in a new window This link opens in a new window to look for relevant books owned by Haverford, Bryn Mawr, and Swarthmore.

The following subject searches are a sampling of possibilities. To find materials on a topic, try doing a title search in the Tripod Catalog to find some relevant material and then use the subject headings assigned to those titles to find more books.

(homer OR odyssey) AND (reception*) [Keyword]

(literature ) AND (greek influences) [Subject search] (Newest titles listed first)

(drama* OR tragedy OR theater) AND (greek) [Subject] AND adaptation* [Keyword]

Tripod Catalog
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
The library catalog of Bryn Mawr, Haverford and Swarthmore Colleges. Use Tripod to find relevant scholarship owned by the tri-college libraries. Change the resource group on the search bar to limit results to specific materials like books and films.
Use the Request link in an item's record to have it delivered to the library of your choice . Note that you need to log into Tripod in order to see the Request link. If you are already in Tripod, use the Sign In link at the top of every page to log in..

WorldCat
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
A catalog of the holdings of books, journals, and other materials held by OCLC (Online Computer Library Center) member libraries. Includes manuscripts, maps, films and sound recordings. Covers works published before 1,000 BC-present.

Borrowing beyond the Tri-Co
1. E-Z Borrow - Request books that are not available in Tripod. It usually takes three days or less for E-Z Borrow books to arrive.
2. Interlibrary Loan (ILL) - Request books not in E-Z Borrow. They can come in as little as four or five days. Also use ILL to request films, dissertations, sound recordings, and other materials.
3. Articles - Request journal articles not available in your college library. You will receive digital copies of the articles in your email sometimes as quickly as the following day.

Finding Journal Articles

Année Philologique
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Annèe Philologique is useful for researchers in the classics, philosophy, history, art, archaeology, and the humanities. It contains publication information for articles for the years 1924 to the present.
MLA International Bibliography
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Indexes journal articles and essays in books concerning literary criticism and history, language, linguistics, film, theater and folklore. Covers material published 1926 to the present.
TOCS-IN: Tables of Contents of Journals of Interest to Classicists This link opens in a new window
Provides the tables of contents from a selection of Classics,Near Eastern Studies, and Religion journals. Subjects covered include: Greek and Latin linguistics and literature, Greek and Roman history, archaeology, mythology,and the Ancient Near East. About ten percent of the entries link to the full text of the articles. Covers published works from 1992-present.
ProQuest Research Library
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Provides citations and full-text magazine and journal articles in a wide variety of disciplines, both scholarly and popular in scope. Covers 1971-present.

Recommended Journals

Professor Roberts recommends these journals for their coverage of classical reception and for their quality:

Classical and Modern Literature
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
This journal is not available in Tripod, but you can use Année philologique to see listings of many of the articles which appeared in CML. See the appropriate college icon for results.
Note that the journal ceased publication in 2009.
Classical Receptions Journal
Haverford does not subscribe to this journal, but you can browse and search the archive online. When you find an article you need, request it through Article Delivery. Online access to the journal is also available at Bryn Mawr.
International Journal of the Classical Tradition: The Official Journal of the International Society for the Classical Tradition
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
The journal's chief focus is the creative use of the ancient Greco-Roman heritage in a broad range of scholarly endeavors.
New Voices in Classical Reception Studies
This open access journals publishes scholarship investigating issues of reception of classical texts, ideas, performance, and material culture across different cultural contexts and in different media.
Practitioners' Voices in Classical Reception Studies
Published as a companion to New Voices in Classical Reception Studies, this open access publication was founded "in response to the growing awareness that Classical Reception research has to recognise the full range of processes that shape the impact of classical material in new contexts."