Research Guides: ASTR 001: Introductory Astronomy (SC): Finding Articles

Finding Journal Articles

Look for the FindIt! button and click on it to see if you can get online access to the citation's article. If Swarthmore does not have access to the online article, you will be given the option to check Tripod for print access, or it will populate an InterLibrary Loan request form for you.

ProQuest Research Library
An interdisciplinary database which has much full-text coverage. Always a good place to start your research. Covers 1971 - present.
NASA Astrophysics Data System
A NASA-funded project that provides abstracts and/or citations to journals in fields that includes: astronomy, astrophysics, containing 524,304 abstracts, instrumentation, physics, geophysics, and the Los Alamos preprint server. Some full-text for most major astronomy journals, back to the 1870's for some titles.

NASA PubSpace
NASA is using PMC to permanently preserve and provide easy public access to the peer-reviewed papers resulting from NASA-funded research.

Google Scholar
Use the "Check Tripod" and "Find it @ Swarthmore" links to see if we have access to full text. GS also often provides full-text access to articles in journals to which we don't actually subscribe - so get in the habit of copying & pasting title articles in to GS (use "QUOTES" so GS treats the title as a phrase!) - check "All x versions" - there will often be access to full-text via one of these versions. If you try this trick in GOOGLE, be sure to add 'PDF' to your search!

arXiv: Astrophysics
A full-text electronic archive of Astrophysics research papers since April 1992.

Web of Science
Find multidisciplinary scholarly articles (sciences, social sciences, and humanities). Citation searching also allows search for highly cited articles and books.