Research Guides: POLS 237: Latin American Politics (HC): Books

Identifying Relevant Books

Use Tripod to look for relevant books owned by Haverford, Swarthmore, and Bryn Mawr.

The following suggested subject searches are only a sampling of possibilities. To find materials on a topic not listed below, try doing a keyword search in the Tripod Library Catalog to find relevant titles and then using the subject headings assigned to those items to find more.

politic* (indigen* or indian*) ("latin america*" OR bolivia* OR ecuador*) [Keyword search]

political parties latin america [Subject Search identified from keyword results]

social movements latin america [Subject Search]

bolivia politics and government [Subject Search sorted by newest publications first]

Oxford Bibliographies Online

Oxford Bibliographies Online: Political Science
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Extensive annotated bibliographies written by scholars in the field. This volume is under development and covers a little over a hundred topics now. Essays of interest include: Civil-Military Relations in Latin America, Democratic Transitions in Latin America and Social Movements in Latin America.

Take advantage of research tools in which political scientists highlight the work being done on a particular question and recommend specific books (and journal articles) that are important in the ongoing discussion.

Beyond the Tri-College Collections

WorldCat
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
A catalog of the holdings of books, journals, and other materials held by OCLC (Online Computer Library Center) member libraries. Includes manuscripts, maps, films and sound recordings. Covers works published before 1,000 BC-present.

WorldCat is an important place to look for many materials not owned by the Tri-College Libraries. This combined library catalog contains more than 300 million records describing items owned by libraries around the world. Many of these items are available to you though interlibrary loan

Borrowing Beyond the Tri-Co
Request items that are not available in Tripod through E-ZBorrow or Interlibrary Loan. Note that E-Z Borrow is the first place to look for books not in Tripod. It usually takes just three days for E-Z Borrow books to arrive. Books not in E-Z Borrow can come from Interlibrary Loan (ILL) which may take as little as four or five days to arrive.

For journal articles not available in the three colleges, use the Article Delivery form. In around 3 days you will receive a digital copy of the requested articles in your email.