Research Guides: ENGL 345: Love and Death (HC): Finding Additional Sources

Finding Books

Tripod: Books & More
The library catalog of Bryn Mawr, Haverford and Swarthmore Colleges. Use Tripod Books and More to find relevant books, journals, dissertations, films, and other material owned by the tri-college libraries. Click on the "request" button at the bottom of an item's record to have it delivered to Magill or another library.

Use TRIPOD to find books and other material related to specific themes and images in Medieval and Renaissance art.

Use WorldCat to find books not held by the Tri-College libraries.

In order to find books in either catalog, conduct either a relevant:

Keyword Search: E.g.,

"dance of death" AND (art OR painting) [limited to English-language books in the TriCo]

"memento mori" AND (image* OR art OR painting OR engraving OR visual*) [newest first]

(See the Search Tips tab for more information on how to construct keyword searches.)

Or Subject Search: E.g.,

Death in art

Love in art [paired with the keywords "medieval OR renaissance" in an Advanced Search]

Death > History

Women > England > History > Middle Ages, 500-1500

(Use the Browse Books & More link or search subjects by keyword in an Advanced Search to find additional subject headings.)

WorldCat
A catalog of the holdings of books, journals, and other materials held by OCLC (Online Computer Library Center) member libraries. Includes manuscripts, maps, films and sound recordings. Covers works published before 1,000 BC-present.

Borrowing Beyond the Tri-Co
Request items that are not available in Tripod through E-ZBorrow or Interlibrary Loan. Note that E-Z Borrow is the first place to look for books not in Tripod. It usually takes just three days for E-Z Borrow books to arrive. Books not in E-Z Borrow can come from Interlibrary Loan (ILL) which may take as little as four or five days to arrive.

For journal articles not available in the three colleges, use the Article Delivery form. In around 3 days you will receive a digital copy of the requested articles in your email.

Finding Journal Articles

International Medieval Bibliography Online
Provides abstracts and citations to articles on medieval subjects in journals, Festschriften, conference proceedings, and collected essays. Covers all aspects of medieval studies within the period 450 to 1500 for Europe, the Middle East and North Africa.

Use these databases to find articles from journals and other periodicals, which often contain more recent scholarship. See the Search Tips tab for further information on how to construct your searches.

The button will help you find full-text copies of the articles, either online or in print. Use the Article Delivery request form for ordering material not held by the tri-college libraries.

Feminae
Provides abstracts and/or citation information to journal articles, book reviews and essays about women, sexuality and gender in Europe, North Africa and the Middle East, from 450 C.E. to 1500 C.E. Covers materials published since 1990.
Art Full Text
Offers abstracts of journals, museum bulletins and yearbooks in the fields of art, architecture, decorative arts and photography. Covers abstracts from 1929-present, full-text articles 1997-present.

Bibliography of British and Irish history
Indexes historical writing in journal articles and essays dealing with the British Isles during all periods of history. Note that you can specify the exact time period that you are searching.

International Bibliography of Art
Provides coverage of scholarship on European art from late antiquity to the present, American art from the colonial era to the present, and global art since 1945; visual arts, decorative and applied arts, museum studies and conservation; scholarship from 500 core journals, plus detailed coverage of monographs, essay collections, conference proceedings and exhibition catalogues. For material published prior to 2008, see this database's predecessor, the Bibliography of the History of Art.
MLA International Bibliography
Database of scholarly books and articles related to literature, language, linguistics, film, theater and folklore. Includes scholarship from 1926 to the present.
Iter
A bibliography of interdisciplinary journal literature pertaining to the Middle Ages and Renaissance, (400-1700). Includes articles, reviews, bibliographies and discographies.