Oxford Art Online
Includes full-text articles on every aspect of the visual arts from prehistory through the present. Contains images and provides links to related sites.
Use these encyclopedias, dictionaries, and databases to begin your search. These relatively short entries provide overviews of key themes and terms, often providing bibliographies with further resources. The print reference resources are available in the Reference Section on the main floor of Magill (for use in the library only).
The Oxford Dictionary of the Middle Ages
Publication Date: 2010-07-29
Over 800 scholars, guided by an international advisory board of five and an international editorial board of 26, have written the over 5,000 entries, and these entries have been lavishly supplemented by more than 500 illustrations and 50 maps. Each entry contains a brief bibliography. Distinguishing this research resource are its balanced coverage of both the whole geographical extent of the European Middle Ages and sixteen major topics centrally important to the study of the period.
Encyclopedia of Comparative Iconography
Publication Date: 1998-04-01
Compares the uses of iconographic themes from mythology, the Bible and other sacred texts, literature, and popular culture in works of art through various periods, cultures, and genres.
Encyclopedia of the Renaissance
Publication Date: 1999-12-17
Published in association with the Renaissance Society of America, this illustrated set treats the period of the Renaissance, from 1350 to 1650, encompassing Italy and the rest of Europe in the context of the broader world. Written for students and non-specialists, the Encyclopedia contains topical entries and biographies ranging from 250 to 7,500 words -- 1,200 alphabetically arranged articles altogether -- on culture, literature, philosophy, religion, economics, politics, politics, science and the arts.
Women and Gender in Medieval Europe
Publication Date: 2006-09-20
From women's medicine and the writings of Christine de Pizan to the lives of market and tradeswomen and the idealization of virginity, gender and social status dictated all aspects of women's lives during the Middle Ages. Masculinity in the Middle Ages is also addressed to provide important context for understanding women's roles.