Research Guides: HIST 317: The Latin American Baroque (HC) Spring 2018: Journal Articles

Finding Journal Articles

Journal articles and other periodical publications will provide scholarly information for you on specific aspects of Latin American and global history. Articles are peer-reviewed prior to publication, so that authors can improve their arguments. Also since articles are generally published on a shorter schedule than books, they can be more-up-to-date. The following indexes are the best ways for you to identify journal articles related to your research.

Use the buttons in the indexes to locate articles available in the three colleges. For those not owned locally, take the ILL (interlibrary loan article delivery) option. You can also go to the Request Form directly.

Historical Abstracts
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Provides abstracts of journal articles, books, book reviews and dissertations that cover world history from 1450 to the present (excluding the U.S. and Canada which are covered in "America: History and Life"). Includes publications from 1953-present.
Swarthmore has access to the full text.

Handbook of Latin American studies
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window

HAPI: Hispanic American Periodicals Index
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Contains citations to scholarly journal articles published in Latin America, Mexico, Central America and the Caribbean, and to materials that address this region and U.S. Hispanic topics. Covers political, economic, and social issues. Some citations link to full-text articles. Covers 1970-present.
ATLA Religion Database + ATLA Serials (American Theological Library Association)
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Provides online access to the entire core collection of more than fifty significant scholarly journals in the field of religion. Also provides citation information for journal articles, book reviews and essays for over 600 journals in the fields of religion and theology. Covers 1949-present.
MLA International Bibliography
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Database of scholarly books and articles related to literature, language, linguistics, film, theater and folklore. Includes scholarship from 1926 to the present.

Tracking Citations Forward in Time with Cited Reference Indexes

Web of Science Citation Databases
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Usually researchers find more sources by looking at the footnotes in an article or book, but these will always be older than the publication you have in hand.

Citation indexes like the Web of Science (which includes sections for the Social Sciences, Arts and Humanities, and Science) are set up to search for sources cited in the footnotes of journal articles as soon as they become available. This allows you to find newer articles which cite the books and articles you already know are key for your topic. By relying on connections between authors rather than subject words and by moving forward in time, citation searching can open up new avenues of research.

When you connect, open the Basic Search tab and choose the Cited Reference Search.
Enter the author's name: Last name first, First name initial only with asterisk.
Skip Cited Title box.
Put the publication year in the Cited Year box.
Under Current Limits, open Citation Databases and uncheck Science Citation Index and Conference Proceedings Science.
On the next screen choose the relevant results based on the Cited Work titles.
The results screen shows the newest articles first. Most records include a summary of contents, so that you can determine how relevant they may be for your research.

Google Scholar
To search for cited references in Google Scholar, enter the title of the article or book in quotation marks.
In the results list, check the link Cited by [number] for both books and journal articles which cite the title you have entered.
Results example:
[CITATION] Loud hands: Autistic people, speaking
J Bascom - Autistic Self Advocacy Network, 2012
Cited by 29 Related articles

[CITATION] Loud hands: Autistic people, speaking
ASA Network - 2012 - Washington DC: Autistic Press
Cited by 4 Related articles

[CITATION] In J. Bascom (ed). Loud Hands: Autistic People, Speaking
N Walker - 2012 - Washington, DC: The Autistic Press
Cited by 5 Related articles