Database that covers all countries and areas and selected series from more specialized international data sources.
UNdata is very helpful for finding statistics and data from the national statistics agency of each country that participates in the UN. If you're hoping to find national or sub-national-level data about a country other than the US, UNdata is an excellent starting point.
World Development Indicators (WDI) is the primary World Bank collection of development indicators, compiled from officially recognized international sources. It includes more than 1100 indicators on population, income, social, economic, financial, natural resources, and environment, covering 210 countries and 18 regional and income groups. Also includes the International Debt Statistics (IDS) database. Data ranges from 1960-present.
The OECD Economic Outlook is the OECD's twice-yearly analysis of the major economic trends and prospects for the next two years. The Outlook puts forward a consistent set of projections for output, employment, prices, fiscal and current account balances.
Coverage is provided for all OECD member countries as well as for selected non-member countries. This issue includes a general assessment, chapters summarising developments and providing projections for each individual country and an extensive statistical annex.
At Swarthmore, the most current issues can be found with the Economics books on the 2nd floor of McCabe Library at call number HC59 .O32. Click here for more information.
Countries included in the OECD Economic Outlook:
OECD Member States - United States -Japan -Euro Area -Germany -France -Italy -United Kingdom-Canada-Australia -Austria-Belgium-Chile-Czech Republic -Denmark -Estonia-Finland-Greece-Hungary -Iceland -Ireland-Israel-Korea -Luxembourg-Mexico-Netherlands-New Zealand -Norway -Poland -Portugal-Slovak Republic-Slovenia -Spain-Sweden -Switzerland -Turkey
Non-member states included in OECD Economic Outlook: Brazil-China-India-Indonesia-Russian Federation-South Africa
Contains time series data for most IMF members (over 200 countries) from 1993-present, covering exchange rates, international liquidity, money and banking accounts, interest rates, production, stock prices, international transactions, government accounts, national accounts, and commodity and trade statistics. Updated monthly.
How to use IFS: Click the link for your school, then scroll down to "Query within a Dataset" and select "International Financial Statistics (IFS)."
To find information using IFS, you need to specify at least one Country and at least one Concept (e.g. interest rates). Use the plus signs to expand lists of countries and concepts, then click on your choices to add them to the search (at the left).
You can export your query results as a Word Document, PDF, or Excel file - just click the icons at the top of the results page.
Use authoritative reference work to find detailed information about a country's political system and government including current events, elections, and political history as well as basic background information such as population, major cities, currency, and more.
The Penn World Table provides purchasing power parity and national income accounts converted to international prices for 188 countries for some or all of the years 1950-2010. The European Union or the OECD provide more detailed purchasing power and real product estimates for their countries and the World Bank makes current price estimates for most PWT countries at the GDP level.
Find the country you're researching on the World Bank website and connect with a country profile, statistics, a summary of World Bank activities in the country, and links to World Bank research on this country. For example, the section for Argentina links to research on reforming small business regulation, biofuel production, and declining socioeconomic inequality in the 2000s.