Research Guides: POLS 068: Globalization (SC): Current Affairs

Specific Newspapers & Magazines

The Economist
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Respected weekly magazine with news coverage of financial, business and policy matters.

Financial Times
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Newspaper with coverage of global economic and political matters
New York Times
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Coverage from 1851 to three years before the current date is in Proquest Historical Newspapers. For current coverage, use the link to LexisNexis.

Washington Post
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Contains nearly all articles that have appeared in the Washington Post since 1877.
Foreign Affairs
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Available online from 1922 to the present

News Sources for Researching Cases

Despite how many news articles can be found through Google, not all publications make their articles available for free. Try searching the news databases that the Tri-Co libraries provide to expand your research.

Access World News and LexisNexis are usually good places to start since they are large databases with broad coverage. However, the most relevant results for your research won't necessarily come up to the top of your search results. The advanced search features on these websites are quite powerful (e.g. limit results by date, geographic region, etc.) for sifting through large amounts of articles.

Check out the regional and alternative news resources listed below as well.

Nexis Uni
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Full-text of thousands of newspapers, magazines, news transcripts, reference works, and legal materials. Includes NY Times (1980-current)

Suggestions for researching cases: Expand your search to include regional and local papers by changing the drop-down menu from "Major World Publications" to "Newspapers."

If you get a lot of search results, use the Geographic limit (left-hand side of the search results page) to narrow down your results to just the location(s) you're researching.
Access World News
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Newspaper collections from NewsBank provide full-text articles from the electronic editions of record for more than 700 newspapers around the globe. Database covers 1977-present. Easy to narrow down your search to just newspapers from a particular region, country, or city.
Ethnic Newswatch
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Find articles from newspapers, magazines and journals of the ethnic, minority and native press in America. Searchable in both English and Spanish, with titles in both languages. Articles from 1959-present.
World News Connection
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Contains hundreds of international news items that are added daily. Material is obtained from non-U.S. open-source political speeches, television programs, radio broadcasts, newspaper articles, periodicals, and books. Content focuses primarily on military, political, environmental, scientific, technical, and socioeconomic issues and events. Full-text available on-line, or relevant articles may be sent to a subscriber's e-mail address.

Click "Simple Search" to begin looking for articles.