MUSI 048: Private Lessons (SC)

A huge streaming audio collection of classical music. PDFs with notes about the pieces, texts and translations into English are often available.

2000, by Nicolas Slonimsky and Electra Yourke. "Assembled here for the first time are Nicolas Slonimsky's writings about the great classical composers and their works, culled from the hundreds of program notes, articles, essays and album liner notes that he wrote during his lifetime. There are 19 chapters arranged by composer. each includes a biographical essay and individual articles on several of each composer's finest and most popular works. More than 190 works are covered in all.Among the many helpful features are highlighted glossary terms defined in the margins; timeliness illustrating important events in each composer's life; samples of musical scores; Web references, bibliographies and discographies."

Use Tripod Books and More to find relevant books, scores, recordings, dissertations, journals and other material owned by Bryn Mawr, Haverford, and Swarthmore Colleges. Click on the "request" button at the bottom of an item's record to have it delivered to your library.

This is a gigantic catalog of millions of materials owned by libraries all over the world describing books, essays, scores, videos, sound recordings, websites, and manuscript collections. If you find something in WorldCat not owned by the Tri-Colleges we can probably get it for you.

The premier index for researching in music, describing books, essays, journal articles, dissertations, documentaries, conference proceedings, bibliographies, discographies, concert reviews, recording notes. Most citations include abstracts.

ProQuest Dissertations and Theses is a collection of scholarly research in the Humanities and Social Sciences that consists of 2.7 million searchable citations to dissertations and theses from around the world, and 1.2 million full-text dissertations that are available for download in PDF format. Coverage is from 1861 to the present day.